Let’s picture that: martial level 5 with extra attack wielding two light weapons, two handaxes for the sake of simplicity. I took the attack action, therefore enabling my off-hand bonus action attack.
1. Handaxe main hand first attack 2. Handaxe off-hand bonus action attack 3. Drop one of the handaxes as a free action 4. Grapple attempt in place of the second extra attack
When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
This does depend on whether you believe the ruling about timing of bonus actions that trigger off taking the Attack action. JC has ruled that, for example, the Shield Master bonus shove can only be taken after *all* attacks in the Attack action are completed (much to everyone's annoyance). Similarly, a two-weapon fighting bonus attack would also have to wait.
Note that many/most DMs are not that strict about Attack triggered bonus actions and will allow them between attacks (or even before the first attack as long as the Attack action is declared).
Regardless of the rule interpretation being used, while holding the two axes you could still:
1. Handaxe hand 1 first attack 2. Drop handaxe in hand 1 3. Grapple as second attack using hand 1 (Attack action complete) 4. Bonus attack with axe in hand 2 (as granted by trigger back in stage 1)
Yes. JC would (incorrectly) take issue with your (wholly legitimate) approach, but would accept Regent’s, so there’s more than one way to skin this cat.
As already mentioned, following RAW to a T you can attack twice and grapple in the same turn in the manner RegentCorreon described.
To expand upon the disputed JC ruling, the idea is that, following RAW/RAI, "taking an Action" literally means taking that action as a character from start to finish, not merely intending to do so as a player.
A popular argument against this understanding of RAW is that the condition of "taking an Action" could be satisfied by simply declaring the Action as a player before the Action is actually carried out by the character.
While JC has made RAI clear, supplementing that D&D is an action-focused game not an intent-focused game, he has also stated that in his own games he himself might allow the condition to be atisfied after a single attack, despite it not being RAW/RAI.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Let’s picture that: martial level 5 with extra attack wielding two light weapons, two handaxes for the sake of simplicity. I took the attack action, therefore enabling my off-hand bonus action attack.
1. Handaxe main hand first attack
2. Handaxe off-hand bonus action attack
3. Drop one of the handaxes as a free action
4. Grapple attempt in place of the second extra attack
Is this feasible?
Yes.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Grappling
When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
This does depend on whether you believe the ruling about timing of bonus actions that trigger off taking the Attack action. JC has ruled that, for example, the Shield Master bonus shove can only be taken after *all* attacks in the Attack action are completed (much to everyone's annoyance). Similarly, a two-weapon fighting bonus attack would also have to wait.
Note that many/most DMs are not that strict about Attack triggered bonus actions and will allow them between attacks (or even before the first attack as long as the Attack action is declared).
Regardless of the rule interpretation being used, while holding the two axes you could still:
1. Handaxe hand 1 first attack
2. Drop handaxe in hand 1
3. Grapple as second attack using hand 1 (Attack action complete)
4. Bonus attack with axe in hand 2 (as granted by trigger back in stage 1)
That could even be more effective damage-wise.
Yes. JC would (incorrectly) take issue with your (wholly legitimate) approach, but would accept Regent’s, so there’s more than one way to skin this cat.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I think a loxodon or simic hybrid could do this without dropping weapons, but yea should work.
the JC reply seems to mix up language about bonus actions with limitations given to reactions.
As already mentioned, following RAW to a T you can attack twice and grapple in the same turn in the manner RegentCorreon described.
To expand upon the disputed JC ruling, the idea is that, following RAW/RAI, "taking an Action" literally means taking that action as a character from start to finish, not merely intending to do so as a player.
A popular argument against this understanding of RAW is that the condition of "taking an Action" could be satisfied by simply declaring the Action as a player before the Action is actually carried out by the character.
While JC has made RAI clear, supplementing that D&D is an action-focused game not an intent-focused game, he has also stated that in his own games he himself might allow the condition to be atisfied after a single attack, despite it not being RAW/RAI.