I'm sure I'll get an eye roll or scoffed at but what would the opinion be if the focus is tied to the back of the spellcaster's hand? Is the energy is coming out is specific to the palm or the hand.
I'd say ask your DM.
My rule (whether it is RAW or not, because there is some gray area) is that if you need a hand that is either holding a focus or empty to interact with one to cast spells that need M components.
Well, actually that grey area really starts to matter once war caster is involved. You know what, forget I said anything.
No, you're good. I appreciate it. I'm the DM in this situation, and I've allowed it, but I respect the opinions here so I just looking some quick feedback.
I'm sure I'll get an eye roll or scoffed at but what would the opinion be if the focus is tied to the back of the spellcaster's hand? Is the energy is coming out is specific to the palm or the hand.
I wouldn't consider something tied to your backhand as held. You need a free hand to hold a spellcasting focus, it it occupies it.
Maybe you didn't write what you think you wrote. You said that somatic components can be performed with a hand occupied by a focus or component pouch. That is only true (by writing and intention) if the spell requires that focus/pouch for its casting (which is why it is written in the Material component rules).
Oh yeah it mixed up sorry loll So if i resume correctly spellcasting is possible for holy symbol's emblazoned shield + weapon only for costless material otherwise weapon must be dropped
Maybe you didn't write what you think you wrote. You said that somatic components can be performed with a hand occupied by a focus or component pouch. That is only true (by writing and intention) if the spell requires that focus/pouch for its casting (which is why it is written in the Material component rules).
Oh yeah it mixed up sorry loll So if i resume correctly spellcasting is possible for holy symbol's emblazoned shield + weapon only for costless material otherwise weapon must be dropped
SPELL V, S
Left Hand: Shield Foci
Right hand: Weapon Somatic
SPELL V, S, M
Left Hand: Somatic, Material (Foci)
Right hand: Weapon
SPELL V, M
Left Hand: Shield Foci
Right hand: Weapon Material
Unless the Material has a cost, you shouldn't need to drop you weapon for V,M spells.
Personally, my stance on it is: since they went out of their way to say you can use it as a focus when wearing or carrying it, it implies some type of specific ruling that overrides the general.
Nothing keeps a wizard/sorcerer from "wearing" a crystal focus (or any focus if they like wearing wands and staves as necklaces lol) but they would still have to hold it to use it since it doesn't give just wearing it as an alternative, unlike the vial.
If they simply said "you can use the vial as a spellcasting focus", this conversation wouldn't be a thing in the first place. This simple wording that they've used a thousand times already
No, you're good. I appreciate it. I'm the DM in this situation, and I've allowed it, but I respect the opinions here so I just looking some quick feedback.
I wouldn't consider something tied to your backhand as held. You need a free hand to hold a spellcasting focus, it it occupies it.
Oh yeah it mixed up sorry loll So if i resume correctly spellcasting is possible for holy symbol's emblazoned shield + weapon only for costless material otherwise weapon must be dropped
SPELL V, S
Left Hand: Shield Foci
Right hand:
WeaponSomaticSPELL V, S, M
Left Hand: Somatic, Material (Foci)
Right hand: Weapon
SPELL V, M
Left Hand: Shield Foci
Right hand:
WeaponMaterialUnless the Material has a cost, you shouldn't need to drop you weapon for V,M spells.
Yes indeed
Personally, my stance on it is: since they went out of their way to say you can use it as a focus when wearing or carrying it, it implies some type of specific ruling that overrides the general.
Nothing keeps a wizard/sorcerer from "wearing" a crystal focus (or any focus if they like wearing wands and staves as necklaces lol) but they would still have to hold it to use it since it doesn't give just wearing it as an alternative, unlike the vial.
If they simply said "you can use the vial as a spellcasting focus", this conversation wouldn't be a thing in the first place. This simple wording that they've used a thousand times already