I'm playing a ranger in my current campaign and we just got to level 6 last night. I took a level in cleric but was unable to prepare spells above level 1 under my cleric spells on my character sheet. The wording of cleric spell casting says:
"You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots."
My understanding is that since I have level 2 spell slots, I should be able to prepare things like prayer of healing or lesser restoration under my 4 cleric spells I can prepare from 1 level in cleric and a +3 wisdom modifier.
Can anyone explain if I'm wrong or if there is something off with the character sheet coding? Thanks
What SwiftSign said. This is the multiclassing rules for spellcasting and is working as intended.
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.
I'm playing a ranger in my current campaign and we just got to level 6 last night. I took a level in cleric but was unable to prepare spells above level 1 under my cleric spells on my character sheet. The wording of cleric spell casting says:
"You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots."
My understanding is that since I have level 2 spell slots, I should be able to prepare things like prayer of healing or lesser restoration under my 4 cleric spells I can prepare from 1 level in cleric and a +3 wisdom modifier.
Can anyone explain if I'm wrong or if there is something off with the character sheet coding? Thanks
You prepare spells as a level 1 cleric. This is a feature not an error.
(this is clear from the multiclassing rules. This isn’t clear in the class descriptions as multiclassing is an optional rule)
What SwiftSign said. This is the multiclassing rules for spellcasting and is working as intended.