In my campaign I got a ring of Spell Storing. It’s a less powerful version which can only store 1 level 1 spell. But I’m curious, if a cleric casts cure wounds in it, can my sorcerer use metamagic on it to say Twin it?
DM rules no since it was a cleric spell and I’m fine with that decision, just curious if there is precedent for allowing this.
The ring says that “you” cast the spell (with the exceptions given for spellcasting abilities/save dcs, etc). if you are wearing the ring, no matter the spell class or whoever loaded that spell, I’d say if you are casting, and you have metamagics, then you can apply any applicable metamagics to that spell.
Sorcerers can Twin Cleric spells - if you were a Sorcerer/Cleric multiclass, it would just be legal and you'd be casting a spell you had prepared from your own slot. Limiting the metamagic based on what spell lists the spell is on is bogus.
Ring of Spell Storing is explicit that except as also explicitly stated, you are treated in all ways as having cast the spell, so you should be able to metamagic the spell no problem. The metamagic rules say you can and no rule says you can't.
With Metamagic, you gain the ability to twist your spells and a Ring of Spell Storing let you cast any spell stored in it and are treated as if you cast the spell.
It's also RAI as confirmed on Twitter by a Dev
@DM_Marky Quick question...Can you settle an discussion? Sorcerers can't use metamagics with spells from Staff of Power correct?
@JeremyECrawford If a magic item's description says you cast a spell from it, you can use Metamagic on the spell. #DnD
While your DM can certainly rule that spells contained in a Ring of Spell Storing are not considered to be your spell as they use the spellcasting ability and slot of the original caster, you can tell him/her it was not intended by the lead game designer of the game though.
With Metamagic, you gain the ability to twist your spells and a Ring of Spell Storing let you cast any spell stored in it and are treated as if you cast the spell.
It's also RAI as confirmed on Twitter by a Dev
@DM_Marky Quick question...Can you settle an discussion? Sorcerers can't use metamagics with spells from Staff of Power correct?
@JeremyECrawford If a magic item's description says you cast a spell from it, you can use Metamagic on the spell. #DnD
Thanks! Can you send me the tweet to send to him :)
While your DM can certainly rule that spells contained in a Ring of Spell Storing are not considered to be your spell as they use the spellcasting ability and slot of the original caster, you can tell him/her it was not intended by the lead game designer of the game though.
Oh I agree, DM makes the rules. So when he ruled, I didn't argue. Just figured I'd DM him if I found otherwise and *cross fingers* hopes he changes his mind :)
In my campaign I got a ring of Spell Storing. It’s a less powerful version which can only store 1 level 1 spell. But I’m curious, if a cleric casts cure wounds in it, can my sorcerer use metamagic on it to say Twin it?
DM rules no since it was a cleric spell and I’m fine with that decision, just curious if there is precedent for allowing this.
The ring says that “you” cast the spell (with the exceptions given for spellcasting abilities/save dcs, etc). if you are wearing the ring, no matter the spell class or whoever loaded that spell, I’d say if you are casting, and you have metamagics, then you can apply any applicable metamagics to that spell.
Sorcerers can Twin Cleric spells - if you were a Sorcerer/Cleric multiclass, it would just be legal and you'd be casting a spell you had prepared from your own slot. Limiting the metamagic based on what spell lists the spell is on is bogus.
Ring of Spell Storing is explicit that except as also explicitly stated, you are treated in all ways as having cast the spell, so you should be able to metamagic the spell no problem. The metamagic rules say you can and no rule says you can't.
With Metamagic, you gain the ability to twist your spells and a Ring of Spell Storing let you cast any spell stored in it and are treated as if you cast the spell.
It's also RAI as confirmed on Twitter by a Dev
@DM_Marky Quick question...Can you settle an discussion? Sorcerers can't use metamagics with spells from Staff of Power correct?
@JeremyECrawford If a magic item's description says you cast a spell from it, you can use Metamagic on the spell. #DnD
While your DM can certainly rule that spells contained in a Ring of Spell Storing are not considered to be your spell as they use the spellcasting ability and slot of the original caster, you can tell him/her it was not intended by the lead game designer of the game though.
Thanks! Can you send me the tweet to send to him :)
Oh I agree, DM makes the rules. So when he ruled, I didn't argue. Just figured I'd DM him if I found otherwise and *cross fingers* hopes he changes his mind :)
https://www.sageadvice.eu/sorcerers-cant-use-metamagics-with-spells-from-staff-of-power-correct/
Fun use for that item: store Find Familiar. Then each day you can sell the use of the ring so that non-wizards can have familiars.