If I set up Mordenkainens private sanctum and have it cast with halting planar travel
Then cast magic circle inside the sanctum and reverse it to stop enemies from leaving the circle
Then cast summon greater demon and command it to go inside the circle
If I drop concentration is it then stuck there? Because I know they leave after 1d6 rounds after dropping concentration, however if they are in a sanctum that blocks planar travel does that mean they can't desummon while in there because they can't return to their plane?
If you block planar travel, apparently you're leaving the sanctum to summon the demon? "You utter foul words, summoning one demon from the chaos of the Abyss."
But either way, I didn't see where any demons from CRs 4 to 9 actually get any way to planar travel. What is the sanctum trying to prevent? Is there some demon that I missed with plane shift?
If you block planar travel, apparently you're leaving the sanctum to summon the demon? "You utter foul words, summoning one demon from the chaos of the Abyss."
But either way, I didn't see where any demons from CRs 4 to 9 actually get any way to planar travel. What is the sanctum trying to prevent? Is there some demon that I missed with plane shift?
I think he talking about the basic "the demon disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends." thing and is looking for a way to stop that from happening.
That doesn't make any sense. The spell has the demon appear on summon, so disappearing should be unsummoning. More worryingly, if it disappears *without* unsummoning, wouldn't that mean it sticks around forever, but now it's invisible? That seems implausibly dangerous for a level 4 spell. You could solo a municipality with a single permanently invisible demon. I think the contextual definition of disappear has to be unsummon, meaning it's planar traveling home.
I would 100% let private sanctum keep a summon from summon greater demon from unsummoning. I don't know *why* my PC wants to make a demon unfathomably angry, but I'd permit it.
The spell does what it says. The demon disappears when the spell ends. This, according to the spell, does not require planar travel or teleportation. It doesn’t even say the demon goes back to the abyss to imply that it must use one of those. It disappears. Off the face of the planet. Bye.
I would 100% let you keep a demon around with a planar binding because that is what that spell does, but I wouldn’t let you do it through this particular loophole that doesn’t actually allow the spell to last longer or the demon to remain once the spell ends.
Also, very technically, the magic circle will end before the duration of the summon greater demon if one PC casts both. You may fudge it by a round or two (you kinda have to, and still have a friend to planar bind), but you’re going to have to spend several rounds getting the demon to the circle since you cannot summon it in the sanctum. The demon will have exactly as many rounds after the circle ends as it took to get into the circle in the first place. Likely after an hour of making charisma checks every 6 seconds, the demon will be able to choose what it wants to do for those rounds. It spends its turns attacking the nearest non-demons (on its way out of the sanctum?) or making its way out of the sanctum anyway to find some non-demons to attack.
Those spells work doesn't really seem to be designed to go together. The magic circle and summon greater demon lasts for 1 hour and planar binding needs the full hour to complete, you'd be hard pressed to actually have the demon still there to make a save even if you are two casters, alone I don't see it done tbh.
Certainly you’d need a second caster to bind a demon. The demon only lasts 1d6 rounds after concentration on its spell ends, which happens as soon as you start casting planar binding. But, as I just said, with a second friend, most DMs (including Jermey Crawford) would let you fudge it by a round. But if you are spending a couple of minutes (or even just a couple of rounds) getting the demon from where you summoned the demon to where you put the circle, the circle is going to end early.
Hi I'm hoping to get a ruling on this,
If I set up Mordenkainens private sanctum and have it cast with halting planar travel
Then cast magic circle inside the sanctum and reverse it to stop enemies from leaving the circle
Then cast summon greater demon and command it to go inside the circle
If I drop concentration is it then stuck there? Because I know they leave after 1d6 rounds after dropping concentration, however if they are in a sanctum that blocks planar travel does that mean they can't desummon while in there because they can't return to their plane?
If you block planar travel, apparently you're leaving the sanctum to summon the demon? "You utter foul words, summoning one demon from the chaos of the Abyss."
But either way, I didn't see where any demons from CRs 4 to 9 actually get any way to planar travel. What is the sanctum trying to prevent? Is there some demon that I missed with plane shift?
I think he talking about the basic "the demon disappears when it drops to 0 hit points or when the spell ends." thing and is looking for a way to stop that from happening.
It doesn’t planeshift away, it disappears. So no.
That doesn't make any sense. The spell has the demon appear on summon, so disappearing should be unsummoning. More worryingly, if it disappears *without* unsummoning, wouldn't that mean it sticks around forever, but now it's invisible? That seems implausibly dangerous for a level 4 spell. You could solo a municipality with a single permanently invisible demon. I think the contextual definition of disappear has to be unsummon, meaning it's planar traveling home.
I would 100% let private sanctum keep a summon from summon greater demon from unsummoning. I don't know *why* my PC wants to make a demon unfathomably angry, but I'd permit it.
Did I say anything about becoming invisible?
The spell does what it says. The demon disappears when the spell ends. This, according to the spell, does not require planar travel or teleportation. It doesn’t even say the demon goes back to the abyss to imply that it must use one of those. It disappears. Off the face of the planet. Bye.
I would 100% let you keep a demon around with a planar binding because that is what that spell does, but I wouldn’t let you do it through this particular loophole that doesn’t actually allow the spell to last longer or the demon to remain once the spell ends.
Also, very technically, the magic circle will end before the duration of the summon greater demon if one PC casts both. You may fudge it by a round or two (you kinda have to, and still have a friend to planar bind), but you’re going to have to spend several rounds getting the demon to the circle since you cannot summon it in the sanctum. The demon will have exactly as many rounds after the circle ends as it took to get into the circle in the first place. Likely after an hour of making charisma checks every 6 seconds, the demon will be able to choose what it wants to do for those rounds. It spends its turns attacking the nearest non-demons (on its way out of the sanctum?) or making its way out of the sanctum anyway to find some non-demons to attack.
Those spells work doesn't really seem to be designed to go together. The magic circle and summon greater demon lasts for 1 hour and planar binding needs the full hour to complete, you'd be hard pressed to actually have the demon still there to make a save even if you are two casters, alone I don't see it done tbh.
Certainly you’d need a second caster to bind a demon. The demon only lasts 1d6 rounds after concentration on its spell ends, which happens as soon as you start casting planar binding. But, as I just said, with a second friend, most DMs (including Jermey Crawford) would let you fudge it by a round. But if you are spending a couple of minutes (or even just a couple of rounds) getting the demon from where you summoned the demon to where you put the circle, the circle is going to end early.