Hey everyone, got a question that I can't decide an answer on myself. I'm playing a Bladesinger + Profane Soul multiclass, and one mechanic from each intrigues me. At level 6, Bladesingers get a variant of Extra Attack that lets them use a Cantrip in place of a Weapon Attack. Similarly, Profane Souls at level 7 get Mystic Frenzy, where they get to use a Bonus Action Weapon Attack, if they use their Action to cast a Cantrip.
My question is; If I used a turn in combat, and started it off with Lightning Lure/True Strike/Other Cantrip, would the Bladesinger rules apply, letting me use a Weapon Attack for the second attack, and then get a Bonus Action Weapon Attack as well from Profane Souls Mystic Frenzy, effectively giving me two Weapon Attacks and Cantrip in one turn?
Or; would the Profane Soul rules override this, and require me to use my ENTIRE action to cast a Cantrip to get a Bonus Action Weapon Attack?
EDIT: This won't be a thought until MUCH later in the game, I'd be level 13, with Wiz at 6 and BH at 7 so I don't think a Cantrip + Two Weapon Attacks i the same turn is terribly broken at that level
Not sure tbh. The Mystic Frenzy feature doesn't specify that you need to use the "Cast a Spell" action so one would guess that any cantrip via any action would be enough (though I suspect they intended it to be from the cast a spell).
So it probably works but I expect there might be some DM variance on it. Not that I think it is horribly overpowered or anything.
If I used a turn in combat, and started it off with Lightning Lure/True Strike/Other Cantrip, would the Bladesinger rules apply, letting me use a Weapon Attack for the second attack, and then get a Bonus Action Weapon Attack as well from Profane Souls Mystic Frenzy, effectively giving me two Weapon Attacks and Cantrip in one turn?
I'd say you're using your action to cast a cantrip when using your Bladesinger's Extra attack, which should allow you to make one weapon attack as a bonus action.
Yup. Using an action to cast a spell is not (just) the [Tooltip Not Found] action. The difference between the two is a bit of a Venn diagram… [Tooltip Not Found] can sometimes be a bonus action or reaction, and using an action to cast a spell will most often be accomplished with [Tooltip Not Found] but may sometimes be Attack (Bladesinger 6 feature) or even Use Magic Item.
Hey everyone, got a question that I can't decide an answer on myself. I'm playing a Bladesinger + Profane Soul multiclass, and one mechanic from each intrigues me. At level 6, Bladesingers get a variant of Extra Attack that lets them use a Cantrip in place of a Weapon Attack. Similarly, Profane Souls at level 7 get Mystic Frenzy, where they get to use a Bonus Action Weapon Attack, if they use their Action to cast a Cantrip.
My question is; If I used a turn in combat, and started it off with Lightning Lure/True Strike/Other Cantrip, would the Bladesinger rules apply, letting me use a Weapon Attack for the second attack, and then get a Bonus Action Weapon Attack as well from Profane Souls Mystic Frenzy, effectively giving me two Weapon Attacks and Cantrip in one turn?
Or; would the Profane Soul rules override this, and require me to use my ENTIRE action to cast a Cantrip to get a Bonus Action Weapon Attack?
EDIT: This won't be a thought until MUCH later in the game, I'd be level 13, with Wiz at 6 and BH at 7 so I don't think a Cantrip + Two Weapon Attacks i the same turn is terribly broken at that level
Not sure tbh. The Mystic Frenzy feature doesn't specify that you need to use the "Cast a Spell" action so one would guess that any cantrip via any action would be enough (though I suspect they intended it to be from the cast a spell).
So it probably works but I expect there might be some DM variance on it. Not that I think it is horribly overpowered or anything.
I'd say you're using your action to cast a cantrip when using your Bladesinger's Extra attack, which should allow you to make one weapon attack as a bonus action.
Yup. Using an action to cast a spell is not (just) the [Tooltip Not Found] action. The difference between the two is a bit of a Venn diagram… [Tooltip Not Found] can sometimes be a bonus action or reaction, and using an action to cast a spell will most often be accomplished with [Tooltip Not Found] but may sometimes be Attack (Bladesinger 6 feature) or even Use Magic Item.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.