I have a character that is currently an 8th level Sorcerer.
If he decides to Take two levels in Wizard and Chooses Necromancy - Grim Harvest:
Does he get the benefit of Grim Harvest from all his Spells (Such as Fireball from his Sorc spell slots)?, or only those he casts with from his Wizard List?
The way I read it is that it's any spell they cast, and would be a pretty powerful self-heal if it is as I read it.
While I'm on the topic, would a "spell cast" from a Necklace of Fireballs or Wand of Lightning, Ring of Spell Storing, etc. also count as a "spell cast"?
I have a character that is currently an 8th level Sorcerer.
If he decides to Take two levels in Wizard and Chooses Necromancy - Grim Harvest:
Does he get the benefit of Grim Harvest from all his Spells (Such as Fireball from his Sorc spell slots)?, or only those he casts with from his Wizard List?
The way I read it is that it's any spell they cast, and would be a pretty powerful self-heal if it is as I read it.
While I'm on the topic, would a "spell cast" from a Necklace of Fireballs or Wand of Lightning, Ring of Spell Storing, etc. also count as a "spell cast"?
It's most spells - and it can be a sorcerer spell, a wizard spell, or any other spell, and it can be from a magic item. From what I can tell, there are only two restrictions:
It doesn't work with cantrips.
There's a rule that doesn't actually exist anywhere that needs to exist for other rules to make sense, especially the Shepherd Druid subclass, requiring that while an object created by a spell is a spell, a creature created by a spell is not. As a result, spells that create creatures - which are the most common in the necromancy and conjuration schools - can't be used for Grim Harvest.
I think there is a far simpler understanding of 2., which is that if a creature under your control attacks a thing and kills it, you didn’t fulfill the requirements of Grim Harvest (you killing a creature) whereas if you stab someone, you have.
You are basically asking for a rule that says that you are you and not the other creatures on the battlefield that you might bring along or summon.
Then there's the issue of animated objects as in the 5th level Sorcerer / Mage spell.
So in a combat involving several animated objects, this could be a huge HOT if the animated objects are deemed to be the caster "killing" the enemy, but completely zero healing if it is deemed they are "not you".
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a character that is currently an 8th level Sorcerer.
If he decides to Take two levels in Wizard and Chooses Necromancy - Grim Harvest:
Does he get the benefit of Grim Harvest from all his Spells (Such as Fireball from his Sorc spell slots)?, or only those he casts with from his Wizard List?
The way I read it is that it's any spell they cast, and would be a pretty powerful self-heal if it is as I read it.
While I'm on the topic, would a "spell cast" from a Necklace of Fireballs or Wand of Lightning, Ring of Spell Storing, etc. also count as a "spell cast"?
Looks like any spell from any source. But it's only ever one per turn.
It's most spells - and it can be a sorcerer spell, a wizard spell, or any other spell, and it can be from a magic item. From what I can tell, there are only two restrictions:
I think there is a far simpler understanding of 2., which is that if a creature under your control attacks a thing and kills it, you didn’t fulfill the requirements of Grim Harvest (you killing a creature) whereas if you stab someone, you have.
You are basically asking for a rule that says that you are you and not the other creatures on the battlefield that you might bring along or summon.
Lol yeah #2 is… unnecessary. “You are you” is clear enough already that it need not be belabored.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Then there's the issue of animated objects as in the 5th level Sorcerer / Mage spell.
So in a combat involving several animated objects, this could be a huge HOT if the animated objects are deemed to be the caster "killing" the enemy, but completely zero healing if it is deemed they are "not you".