So this topic came up recently and since the people involved could not agree / decide. I figured I'd make a post here and ask since I'm sure there is a correct answer to the question.
Say you play a Divine Soul Sorcerer who also taps into Druid - Druid of the Stars specifically; and then you do the following.
You use Metamagic Twinned Spell to cast a healing spell like Healing Word or Cure Wounds; due to that these spells can only target one creature (Even at higher levels where only it's dice amount of healing increases) We figured that "Surely this can be Twinned and essentially you can cast the healing spell "twice" <- This we were all in agreement on, but then comes the question of the Chalice function to Druid of the Stars.
Would you cats that Chalice healing die (1d8 + wis mod) once or twice. I firmly ment that since that second Twinned use of X Healing spell does not consume a spell slot: it would not cause for a second Chalice heal, and while some agreed - Others made the argument that since the "main" spell - The core one that the Twinning stemmed from consumed a spell slot; it would make you able to cast that Chalice die twice.
The Chalice function states that "A constellation of a life-giving goblet appears on you. Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier." - So while it does not consume a Action, Bonus Action or Reaction and just "Happens" when a heal is done, some ment this made it possible to cast it twice, but I mean that since it specifies "Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot" - And that since the Twinned spell technically does not expend a spell slot; this should not allow you to do the Chalice healing twice.
Anyone who would be able to tell me what is the correct statement on this?
So if you cast cure wounds on target A and twin it to include target B you could then use the chalice to give the extra healing to yourself, target B, or someone else within 30 feet. If I have it right.
Or would you say it would have to be used on yourself or another target other than A or B since they were the target of the spell and the feature says “yourself or another“?
A twinned spell targets 2 creatures not 1 creature and an extra one, if you can target B you can also target A.
I would take the "another creature" to be a creature other than you. This would mean you can give the extra healing to A,or B or anyone 3lse as long as they are within 30ft. Another example is if a stars druid casts mass cure wounds on the whole party the chalice of healing can give extra healing to one member of the party.
I would take the "another creature" to be a creature other than you. This would mean you can give the extra healing to A,or B or anyone 3lse as long as they are within 30ft.
Chalice does actually specify you can target yourself with the extra healing. "You or another creature within 30 feet." Your logic is sound otherwise.
Also, note that in case A and/or B are more than 30 feet away from you, you would need to target someone other than them; someone who's within 30 feet of you, or who is you. Notable if you're using Healing Word or other healing spells that have a range over 30 feet, whether by default or through Extended Spell Metamagic.
So this topic came up recently and since the people involved could not agree / decide. I figured I'd make a post here and ask since I'm sure there is a correct answer to the question.
+ your Wisdom modifier." - So while it does not consume a Action, Bonus Action or Reaction and just "Happens" when a heal is done, some ment this made it possible to cast it twice, but I mean that since it specifies "Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot" - And that since the Twinned spell technically does not expend a spell slot; this should not allow you to do the Chalice healing twice.
Say you play a Divine Soul Sorcerer who also taps into Druid - Druid of the Stars specifically; and then you do the following.
You use Metamagic Twinned Spell to cast a healing spell like Healing Word or Cure Wounds; due to that these spells can only target one creature (Even at higher levels where only it's dice amount of healing increases) We figured that "Surely this can be Twinned and essentially you can cast the healing spell "twice" <- This we were all in agreement on, but then comes the question of the Chalice function to Druid of the Stars.
Would you cats that Chalice healing die (1d8 + wis mod) once or twice. I firmly ment that since that second Twinned use of X Healing spell does not consume a spell slot: it would not cause for a second Chalice heal, and while some agreed - Others made the argument that since the "main" spell - The core one that the Twinning stemmed from consumed a spell slot; it would make you able to cast that Chalice die twice.
The Chalice function states that "A constellation of a life-giving goblet appears on you. Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8
Anyone who would be able to tell me what is the correct statement on this?
Twinning a spell does not mean you cast the spell twice. It just means that this single spell targets exactly two creatures instead of exactly one.
The Chalice effect kicks in when you cast a spell which heals. You have still cast only one healing spell, so you only get one Chalice effect.
Alright! Thank you so much for the clarification and quick answer!
So if you cast cure wounds on target A and twin it to include target B you could then use the chalice to give the extra healing to yourself, target B, or someone else within 30 feet. If I have it right.
Or would you say it would have to be used on yourself or another target other than A or B since they were the target of the spell and the feature says “yourself or another“?
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
A twinned spell targets 2 creatures not 1 creature and an extra one, if you can target B you can also target A.
I would take the "another creature" to be a creature other than you. This would mean you can give the extra healing to A,or B or anyone 3lse as long as they are within 30ft. Another example is if a stars druid casts mass cure wounds on the whole party the chalice of healing can give extra healing to one member of the party.
Chalice does actually specify you can target yourself with the extra healing. "You or another creature within 30 feet." Your logic is sound otherwise.
Also, note that in case A and/or B are more than 30 feet away from you, you would need to target someone other than them; someone who's within 30 feet of you, or who is you. Notable if you're using Healing Word or other healing spells that have a range over 30 feet, whether by default or through Extended Spell Metamagic.