So I was wondering about the wording of Dispel Magic: "Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends."
My question is how does this work for spells like Bless, Bane, higher level Fly, Wind Walk, etc. when it is a single spell impacting several targets at once? Can Dispel Magic target the effect rather than a single creature? And does the spell then end for everyone?
So I was wondering about the wording of Dispel Magic: "Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends."
My question is how does this work for spells like Bless, Bane, higher level Fly, Wind Walk, etc. when it is a single spell impacting several targets at once? Can Dispel Magic target the effect rather than a single creature? And does the spell then end for everyone?
RAW, if you cast Dispel Magic on someone who's benefiting from Bless, the entire Bless spell ends - Dispel Magic "infects" the entire spell by targeting any one creature the spell is "on". This keeps things consistent between spells where the caster chooses their target at cast time, like Bless, and ones where it's a mobile "bubble" requiring the spell to dynamically change who's affected by it, like Pass Without Trace. This is not dependent on the spell being a "buff" - Mass Suggestion is subject to the same rules.
I would rule that if you targeted a creature it would end only on that creature, but if you targeted only that spell on the creature then it would end the whole spell.
Old thread. The way I read it is if you select a creature ALL spells of 3rd level or lower end. If you target a creature that is affected by bless, fly and slow all the spells end on that creature. If you select a magical effect say slow the 'target" is somewhat nebulous but I would rule the spell ends for all creatures within range.
Hey all!
So I was wondering about the wording of Dispel Magic: "Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends."
My question is how does this work for spells like Bless, Bane, higher level Fly, Wind Walk, etc. when it is a single spell impacting several targets at once? Can Dispel Magic target the effect rather than a single creature? And does the spell then end for everyone?
RAW, if you cast Dispel Magic on someone who's benefiting from Bless, the entire Bless spell ends - Dispel Magic "infects" the entire spell by targeting any one creature the spell is "on". This keeps things consistent between spells where the caster chooses their target at cast time, like Bless, and ones where it's a mobile "bubble" requiring the spell to dynamically change who's affected by it, like Pass Without Trace. This is not dependent on the spell being a "buff" - Mass Suggestion is subject to the same rules.
That's what I thought, thanks!
Do you know where that ruling is, by chance?
In the text of Dispel Magic. It says that the spell ends, not that the effect does.
Not that I like it but the SAC disagrees.
That's the obvious intent, and honestly the one that people ought to go with.
I would rule that if you targeted a creature it would end only on that creature, but if you targeted only that spell on the creature then it would end the whole spell.
Old thread. The way I read it is if you select a creature ALL spells of 3rd level or lower end. If you target a creature that is affected by bless, fly and slow all the spells end on that creature. If you select a magical effect say slow the 'target" is somewhat nebulous but I would rule the spell ends for all creatures within range.
That's exactly what I meant.