Bit of a corner case but I am hoping someone has an answer, maybe even an official one.
If an object either contains and can release a creature, such as an elemental or an Undead, and that item is placed in a bag of holding after the creature is summoned what happens?
Would removing the object from this plane/realm automatically cause it to recall the summoned creature or would the creature remain summoned for its duration.
Follow up - If they remained summoned what would happen when the effect ended since the creature couldn't return to the object.?
It depends of the magic items as there's no offial general rules for that. If you have the exact name or text can you please copy it here?
In general, unless an item specifically mention the summoned creature returns to its home plane when the item leaves the plane, it would not.
I'd assume that the item would say what happen at the end of the summoning duration or if the summoned creature dies. If it doesn't, i'd say the creature either remains on the plane if alive or returns to its homeplane if killed.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Bit of a corner case but I am hoping someone has an answer, maybe even an official one.
If an object either contains and can release a creature, such as an elemental or an Undead, and that item is placed in a bag of holding after the creature is summoned what happens?
Would removing the object from this plane/realm automatically cause it to recall the summoned creature or would the creature remain summoned for its duration.
Follow up - If they remained summoned what would happen when the effect ended since the creature couldn't return to the object.?
I think it would depend on what the objects description says.
If it says that the creature returns to the object after the duration or is killed then I would say it goes back to the object.
If it says the object has to be on the same plane for it to return then I would assume the creature is gone for good.
If it says nothing then I would think it would be gone for good once the duration is over or the creature is killed no matter where the object is.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
It depends of the magic items as there's no offial general rules for that. If you have the exact name or text can you please copy it here?
In general, unless an item specifically mention the summoned creature returns to its home plane when the item leaves the plane, it would not.
I'd assume that the item would say what happen at the end of the summoning duration or if the summoned creature dies. If it doesn't, i'd say the creature either remains on the plane if alive or returns to its homeplane if killed.