A Large quasi-real, horselike creature appears on the ground in an unoccupied space of your choice within range. You decide the creature’s appearance, but it is equipped with a saddle, bit, and bridle. Any of the equipment created by the spell vanishes in a puff of smoke if it is carried more than 10 feet away from the steed. For the duration, you or a creature you choose can ride the steed. The creature uses the statistics for a riding horse, except it has a speed of 100 feet and can travel 10 miles in an hour, or 13 miles at a fast pace. When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount. The spell ends if you use an action to dismiss it or if the steed takes any damage.
"When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount." During this one minute, the spell has technically ended. Can the steed still be used as a mount as it slowly vanishes or is dismounting the only action you can take within the minute?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
As I recall, mounting or dismounting consumes half of your movement... which I only remember because the Fighter Cavalier subclass has a feature that changes that to 5 feet and clarifies that normally it's half your movement.
That said... I think that, functionally, your steed remains for a full minute even after the spell ends. I think this is basically meant to balance out the fact that the spell ends if it takes any damage, so if you're in a situation like that you don't just drop onto the ground and still have the opportunity to move around.
These are very good points. I was hesitant to think of it as a fully functional mount at first , but I do see how it balances out how the spell ends in the first place.
I have a few followup questions to tag onto the original one
1) Because the spell states that you use the statistics for a riding horse, does that include its health? Even though the spell ends when the mount takes any damage, is it possible for the mount to become incapacitated by having its HP reduced to 0? Can the phantom steed still be subjected to various other conditions like paralyzed or stunned ?
2) Because the mount persists for 1 minute after the spell ends, would that also mean that if the mount were targeted by Dispel Magic that it would still persist for 1 minute after the casting?
Functionally, yes, it's still a Riding Horse and follows all rules related to that. For example, the spell ends if the Steed takes any damage, but it still has 13 HP total and will be knocked unconscious if it takes that much damage, but will still continue to exist until the spell ends. It is susceptible to all status effects that a Riding Horse is susceptible to... it can be put to sleep, charmed, etc.
The spell "Dispel Magic" doesn't simply shut down all magic, it specifically "Ends" the spell. So any additional effects as a result of a spell ending still occur, so the Dispelled Phantom Steed still fades for 1 minute after being dispelled.
Functionally, yes, it's still a Riding Horse and follows all rules related to that. For example, the spell ends if the Steed takes any damage, but it still has 13 HP total and will be knocked unconscious if it takes that much damage, but will still continue to exist until the spell ends. It is susceptible to all status effects that a Riding Horse is susceptible to... it can be put to sleep, charmed, etc.
The spell "Dispel Magic" doesn't simply shut down all magic, it specifically "Ends" the spell. So any additional effects as a result of a spell ending still occur, so the Dispelled Phantom Steed still fades for 1 minute after being dispelled.
That was more or less my thought process, but wanted to check if I was missing something obvious in the spell language
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews!Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Phantom Steed
A Large quasi-real, horselike creature appears on the ground in an unoccupied space of your choice within range. You decide the creature’s appearance, but it is equipped with a saddle, bit, and bridle. Any of the equipment created by the spell vanishes in a puff of smoke if it is carried more than 10 feet away from the steed.
For the duration, you or a creature you choose can ride the steed. The creature uses the statistics for a riding horse, except it has a speed of 100 feet and can travel 10 miles in an hour, or 13 miles at a fast pace. When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount. The spell ends if you use an action to dismiss it or if the steed takes any damage.
"When the spell ends, the steed gradually fades, giving the rider 1 minute to dismount." During this one minute, the spell has technically ended. Can the steed still be used as a mount as it slowly vanishes or is dismounting the only action you can take within the minute?
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
As I recall, mounting or dismounting consumes half of your movement... which I only remember because the Fighter Cavalier subclass has a feature that changes that to 5 feet and clarifies that normally it's half your movement.
That said... I think that, functionally, your steed remains for a full minute even after the spell ends. I think this is basically meant to balance out the fact that the spell ends if it takes any damage, so if you're in a situation like that you don't just drop onto the ground and still have the opportunity to move around.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
These are very good points. I was hesitant to think of it as a fully functional mount at first , but I do see how it balances out how the spell ends in the first place.
I have a few followup questions to tag onto the original one
1) Because the spell states that you use the statistics for a riding horse, does that include its health? Even though the spell ends when the mount takes any damage, is it possible for the mount to become incapacitated by having its HP reduced to 0? Can the phantom steed still be subjected to various other conditions like paralyzed or stunned ?
2) Because the mount persists for 1 minute after the spell ends, would that also mean that if the mount were targeted by Dispel Magic that it would still persist for 1 minute after the casting?
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!
Functionally, yes, it's still a Riding Horse and follows all rules related to that. For example, the spell ends if the Steed takes any damage, but it still has 13 HP total and will be knocked unconscious if it takes that much damage, but will still continue to exist until the spell ends. It is susceptible to all status effects that a Riding Horse is susceptible to... it can be put to sleep, charmed, etc.
The spell "Dispel Magic" doesn't simply shut down all magic, it specifically "Ends" the spell. So any additional effects as a result of a spell ending still occur, so the Dispelled Phantom Steed still fades for 1 minute after being dispelled.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
That was more or less my thought process, but wanted to check if I was missing something obvious in the spell language
Three-time Judge of the Competition of the Finest Brews! Come join us in making fun, unique homebrew and voting for your favorite entries!