Referencing the rules in XTG for this, it says you must provide the material components for the spell. I would read that as you cannot use a Spell Focus instead of the components. My question is more regarding if the components are consumed in the scribing of the spell. Does it follow as if you cast the spell, and if the components are consumed when casting they are also consumed when scribing the spell? Does that also mean if you just need the components to cast the spell and they are not consumed, you likewise need the component to scribe the spell but doing so does not deplete the spell component?
Once the spell is scribed its considered the spell is more or less stored in that scroll. So example I put revivify on the scroll and that cost 300 gold gem. That gem is used on the creation of the scroll. That scroll is a complete package at that point. You don't need anymore components past the initial creation of the scroll.
Creating a scroll you are casting the spell so you would need the components. The scroll just stores it for later use.
In my Lord Archi's spell scroll scribing the consumable components are turned into the Ink necessary for the scroll. now could buy a components pouch to avoid having to keep track of normal use of non-cost scroll components. Or.. possibly buy a wand focus and turn it into a quill pen.
still have to use costing components for the ink.. though if it is not used up would use it to process the ink.
At least that would be my guess.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Itinerant Deputy Shire-reave Tomas Burrfoot - world walker, Raft-captain, speaker to his dead
Toddy Shelfungus- Rider of the Order of Ill Luck, Speaker to Friends of Friends, and Horribly big nosed
Jarl Archi of Jenisis Glade Fee- Noble Knight of the Dragonborn Goldcrest Clan, Sorcerer of the Noble Investigator;y; Knightly order of the Wolfhound
Once the spell is scribed its considered the spell is more or less stored in that scroll. So example I put revivify on the scroll and that cost 300 gold gem. That gem is used on the creation of the scroll. That scroll is a complete package at that point. You don't need anymore components past the initial creation of the scroll.
Creating a scroll you are casting the spell so you would need the components. The scroll just stores it for later use.
So if the spell required a component that is not consumed by casting the spell, you just need it with you when scribing? That's my understanding, but Xanathar's wasn't specific.
regardless of how you look at components, there is a defined cost to creating a scroll...the money is spent/gone/poof.
"Resources. Scribing a spell scroll takes an amount of time and moneyrelated to the level of the spell the character wants to scribe, as shown in the Spell Scroll Costs table."
Scribe the scroll, subtract the amount from you gold balance.
Both the guidance in XGtE and the DMG are consistent, in that they require the components to be on-hand and available during the creation of the spell scroll. The PHB sets the allowance for a component pouch or a spellcasting focus to be used during the casting of a spell, except if you are casting a spell that comsumes the component, or there is a GP amount listed for a component that is not consumed(e.g. 50GP diamond).
My own interpretation of the guidance in the DMG and XGtE is that it says components must be on hand(Both), and the person be proficient in Arcana(XGtE). There is no exception listed for a component pouch or spellcasting focus.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
"Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell."
"If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components." PHB
The "in place of" for the two items means two different things, a component pouch is assumed to have them in it. While the focus normally is not.. I normally create a component pouch and as normal assume the minor, no gp cost stuff is on hand.. but buy the GP stuff and put it in as well. So IS in hand with the pouch. My magic-users have a tendency to consider these GP material components Special Foci.. unless they are used up by the spell.
Referencing the rules in XTG for this, it says you must provide the material components for the spell. I would read that as you cannot use a Spell Focus instead of the components. My question is more regarding if the components are consumed in the scribing of the spell. Does it follow as if you cast the spell, and if the components are consumed when casting they are also consumed when scribing the spell? Does that also mean if you just need the components to cast the spell and they are not consumed, you likewise need the component to scribe the spell but doing so does not deplete the spell component?
Once the spell is scribed its considered the spell is more or less stored in that scroll. So example I put revivify on the scroll and that cost 300 gold gem. That gem is used on the creation of the scroll. That scroll is a complete package at that point. You don't need anymore components past the initial creation of the scroll.
Creating a scroll you are casting the spell so you would need the components. The scroll just stores it for later use.
In my Lord Archi's spell scroll scribing the consumable components are turned into the Ink necessary for the scroll.
now could buy a components pouch to avoid having to keep track of normal use of non-cost scroll components.
Or.. possibly buy a wand focus and turn it into a quill pen.
still have to use costing components for the ink.. though if it is not used up would use it to process the ink.
At least that would be my guess.
Itinerant Deputy Shire-reave Tomas Burrfoot - world walker, Raft-captain, speaker to his dead
Toddy Shelfungus- Rider of the Order of Ill Luck, Speaker to Friends of Friends, and Horribly big nosed
Jarl Archi of Jenisis Glade Fee- Noble Knight of the Dragonborn Goldcrest Clan, Sorcerer of the Noble Investigator;y; Knightly order of the Wolfhound
So if the spell required a component that is not consumed by casting the spell, you just need it with you when scribing? That's my understanding, but Xanathar's wasn't specific.
regardless of how you look at components, there is a defined cost to creating a scroll...the money is spent/gone/poof.
"Resources. Scribing a spell scroll takes an amount of time and money related to the level of the spell the character wants to scribe, as shown in the Spell Scroll Costs table."
Scribe the scroll, subtract the amount from you gold balance.
Guide to the Five Factions (PWYW)
Deck of Decks
Both the guidance in XGtE and the DMG are consistent, in that they require the components to be on-hand and available during the creation of the spell scroll. The PHB sets the allowance for a component pouch or a spellcasting focus to be used during the casting of a spell, except if you are casting a spell that comsumes the component, or there is a GP amount listed for a component that is not consumed(e.g. 50GP diamond).
My own interpretation of the guidance in the DMG and XGtE is that it says components must be on hand(Both), and the person be proficient in Arcana(XGtE). There is no exception listed for a component pouch or spellcasting focus.
Edit: SNAFU
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
"Material (M)"
"Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell."
"If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components."
PHB
The "in place of" for the two items means two different things, a component pouch is assumed to have them in it.
While the focus normally is not..
I normally create a component pouch and as normal assume the minor, no gp cost stuff is on hand.. but buy the GP stuff and put it in as well. So IS in hand with the pouch.
My magic-users have a tendency to consider these GP material components Special Foci.. unless they are used up by the spell.
Itinerant Deputy Shire-reave Tomas Burrfoot - world walker, Raft-captain, speaker to his dead
Toddy Shelfungus- Rider of the Order of Ill Luck, Speaker to Friends of Friends, and Horribly big nosed
Jarl Archi of Jenisis Glade Fee- Noble Knight of the Dragonborn Goldcrest Clan, Sorcerer of the Noble Investigator;y; Knightly order of the Wolfhound