If you're trapped inside a bead of force's sphere, can you teleport out?
I think probably yes, but wanted to see what the hive mind felt.
Cheers,
G
Bead of Force:
This small black sphere measures 3/4 of an inch in diameter and weighs an ounce. Typically, 1d4 + 4 beads of force are found together.
You can use an action to throw the bead up to 60 feet. The bead explodes on impact and is destroyed. Each creature within a 10-foot radius of where the bead landed must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or take 5d4 force damage. A sphere of transparent force then encloses the area for 1 minute. Any creature that failed the save and is completely within the area is trapped inside this sphere. Creatures that succeeded on the save, or are partially within the area, are pushed away from the center of the sphere until they are no longer inside it. Only breathable air can pass through the sphere's wall. No attack or other effect can.
An enclosed creature can use its action to push against the sphere's wall, moving the sphere up to half the creature's walking speed. The sphere can be picked up, and its magic causes it to weigh only 1 pound, regardless of the weight of creatures inside
The bits you emphasized point to the creature being physically trapped, being able to breathe and no other spell effects can pass through the sphere. If a creature were to cast misty step on themselves, for example, the effect would be originating from inside the sphere, and effected a creature inside the sphere. The effect would not have to travel through the sphere.
If someone standing outside the sphere were to try to cast healing word on a creature inside the sphere, the effect would not travel through the sphere.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
For comparison, the 7th level spell Forcecage specifically talks about how teleportation magic is affected. This I think supports the argument that beads of force don't limit teleportation in any way:
An immobile, invisible, cube-shaped prison composed of magical force springs into existence around an area you choose within range. The prison can be a cage or a solid box as you choose.
A prison in the shape of a cage can be up to 20 feet on a side and is made from 1/2-inch diameter bars spaced 1/2 inch apart.
A prison in the shape of a box can be up to 10 feet on a side, creating a solid barrier that prevents any matter from passing through it and blocking any spells cast into or out of the area.
When you cast the spell, any creature that is completely inside the cage’s area is trapped. Creatures only partially within the area, or those too large to fit inside the area, are pushed away from the center of the area until they are completely outside the area.
A creature inside the cage can’t leave it by nonmagical means. If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplanar travel to leave the cage, it must first make a Charisma saving throw. On a success, the creature can use that magic to exit the cage. On a failure, the creature can’t exit the cage and wastes the use of the spell or effect. The cage also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel.
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Arcane gate? Yes, the sphere would block it. The spell targets two points, one of which would be outside the sphere in this case, so the spell would need to pass through the sphere to target that second point.
Misty step? No, the sphere would not block it. The spell originates from yourself and targets yourself, so it doesn't have to pass through the sphere to reach it's target.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If you're trapped inside a bead of force's sphere, can you teleport out?
I think probably yes, but wanted to see what the hive mind felt.
Cheers,
G
Bead of Force:
This small black sphere measures 3/4 of an inch in diameter and weighs an ounce. Typically, 1d4 + 4 beads of force are found together.
You can use an action to throw the bead up to 60 feet. The bead explodes on impact and is destroyed. Each creature within a 10-foot radius of where the bead landed must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or take 5d4 force damage. A sphere of transparent force then encloses the area for 1 minute. Any creature that failed the save and is completely within the area is trapped inside this sphere. Creatures that succeeded on the save, or are partially within the area, are pushed away from the center of the sphere until they are no longer inside it. Only breathable air can pass through the sphere's wall. No attack or other effect can.
An enclosed creature can use its action to push against the sphere's wall, moving the sphere up to half the creature's walking speed. The sphere can be picked up, and its magic causes it to weigh only 1 pound, regardless of the weight of creatures inside
The bits you emphasized point to the creature being physically trapped, being able to breathe and no other spell effects can pass through the sphere. If a creature were to cast misty step on themselves, for example, the effect would be originating from inside the sphere, and effected a creature inside the sphere. The effect would not have to travel through the sphere.
If someone standing outside the sphere were to try to cast healing word on a creature inside the sphere, the effect would not travel through the sphere.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
The effect of any teleportation magic is going to be passing through the wall, so teleportation in/out isn't possible.
For comparison, the 7th level spell Forcecage specifically talks about how teleportation magic is affected. This I think supports the argument that beads of force don't limit teleportation in any way:
An immobile, invisible, cube-shaped prison composed of magical force springs into existence around an area you choose within range. The prison can be a cage or a solid box as you choose.
A prison in the shape of a cage can be up to 20 feet on a side and is made from 1/2-inch diameter bars spaced 1/2 inch apart.
A prison in the shape of a box can be up to 10 feet on a side, creating a solid barrier that prevents any matter from passing through it and blocking any spells cast into or out of the area.
When you cast the spell, any creature that is completely inside the cage’s area is trapped. Creatures only partially within the area, or those too large to fit inside the area, are pushed away from the center of the area until they are completely outside the area.
A creature inside the cage can’t leave it by nonmagical means. If the creature tries to use teleportation or interplanar travel to leave the cage, it must first make a Charisma saving throw. On a success, the creature can use that magic to exit the cage. On a failure, the creature can’t exit the cage and wastes the use of the spell or effect. The cage also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel.
This spell can’t be dispelled by Dispel Magic
Teleportation from one space to another doesn't "pass through" any of the spaces in between
Would you rule that the bead stops, say, arcane gate as well as misty step?
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Arcane gate? Yes, the sphere would block it. The spell targets two points, one of which would be outside the sphere in this case, so the spell would need to pass through the sphere to target that second point.
Misty step? No, the sphere would not block it. The spell originates from yourself and targets yourself, so it doesn't have to pass through the sphere to reach it's target.