If 2 characters are fighting over a item (small box with 2 handles) and 1 uses dimension door, does it work or does the person who's also holding the box go with him, willing or unwilling
If 2 characters are fighting over a item (small box with 2 handles) and 1 uses dimension door, does it work or does the person who's also holding the box go with him, willing or unwilling
You teleport and leave the box behind; you can only bring along willing characters or items that are under your control.
"You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed what you can carry. You can also bring one willing creature of your size or smaller who is carrying gear up to its carrying capacity. The creature must be within 5 feet of you when you cast this spell."
The text for Dimension Door is surprisingly vague on that point. Normally the game rules specify that the object must not be "worn or carried" by another, but it seems there was an oversight here.
RAW, a DM could understandaby allow Dimension Door to be used to steal things from others, even if well secured.
However, that would be a significant can of worms, and almost certainly not RAI.
If 2 characters are fighting over a item (small box with 2 handles) and 1 uses dimension door, does it work or does the person who's also holding the box go with him, willing or unwilling
You teleport and leave the box behind; you can only bring along willing characters or items that are under your control.
The text for Dimension Door is surprisingly vague on that point. Normally the game rules specify that the object must not be "worn or carried" by another, but it seems there was an oversight here.
RAW, a DM could understandaby allow Dimension Door to be used to steal things from others, even if well secured.
However, that would be a significant can of worms, and almost certainly not RAI.
Thank you both for you replies!
Casting Dimension Door would allow you to teleport with the box and possibly the other creature if its within 5 feet and both of you are willing to.