The biggest issue for a Wizard creating a Simulacrum of itself is that the Simulacrum does not come with it's own spell book, and so needs the Wizard to write one out for it or have prepared to give to it.
But If an Order of Scribes wizard created a Simulacrum am I right in thinking that it will immediately be able to make the same Spell book as the Wizard that created it?
Asking as a DM who's current big bad is an order of scribes wizard and he likes making Simulacrums :)
I think rules as written this is unclear; the key issue is that you are "replacing" something that never existed, and it talks about "your spellbook’s consciousness is summoned into the new book", but would that be a new consciousness, or the consciousness from the original's spellbook?
Personally I'd be inclined to say that the simulacrum needs to create its own spellbook from scratch so that it can have an original to replace (and awaken), same as any other duplicated Wizard, but this is seems like a DM ruling situation so as DM you can decide however you want.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
You do not need a spellbook to cast spells, only to CHANGE the spells you prepare. The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn, as such I would rule it cannot use a spellbook to change it's spells, even if you make one. Also, they can never regain used spell slots, so it is unlikely they will ever want to make a spellbook, even if you ruled that they already know and can prepare the spells you know in your spellbook.
But simulacrums have all the current abilities of the subject. As such, Simulacrum should come with all the spells you currently prepared as prepared.
You do not need a spellbook to cast spells, only to CHANGE the spells you prepare. The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn, as such I would rule it cannot use a spellbook to change it's spells, even if you make one. Also, they can never regain used spell slots, so it is unlikely they will ever want to make a spellbook, even if you ruled that they already know and can prepare the spells you know in your spellbook.
But simulacrums have all the current abilities of the subject. As such, Simulacrum should come with all the spells you currently prepared as prepared.
Agree. And it will lack the spell slot you used to create the simulacrum as it is expended before it is formed.
And then you simply hand him over an arcane focus so it can cast all spells without costly components.
The biggest issue for a Wizard creating a Simulacrum of itself is that the Simulacrum does not come with it's own spell book, and so needs the Wizard to write one out for it or have prepared to give to it.
But If an Order of Scribes wizard created a Simulacrum am I right in thinking that it will immediately be able to make the same Spell book as the Wizard that created it?
Asking as a DM who's current big bad is an order of scribes wizard and he likes making Simulacrums :)
They could copy the original's spellbook, but if they wanted to just make their own instead of copying, they'd be limited to their prepared spells.
The Awakened Spellbook ability wouldn't let you circumvent this, as its (poorly written, since it's Tasha's) text only functions if you have a spellbook to awaken, and the simulacra don't. In other words, the class ability incorrectly assumes the wizard in question has a spellbook that can be magically copied. You have to step in as the DM and patch it to avoid word salad.
Except for Rituals, which a Wizard can cast without spending a spell slot and does not have to have prepared.
So I have decided the NPC Big Bad wizard has written out a spell book for the Simulacrum, being an order of the scribes wizard the whole book would have taken him just a couple of days including plenty of time for doing other stuff. The Simulacrum can then use that spell book to get all the other benefits of an order of the scribe wizard.
Except for Rituals, which a Wizard can cast without spending a spell slot and does not have to have prepared.
Right. A wizard can cast any ritual spell directly from their own spellbook, but not from anyone else's.
So I have decided the NPC Big Bad wizard has written out a spell book for the Simulacrum, being an order of the scribes wizard the whole book would have taken him just a couple of days including plenty of time for doing other stuff. The Simulacrum can then use that spell book to get all the other benefits of an order of the scribe wizard.
Oh, you should have said this was for an NPC! NPCs aren't constrained by any rules for something like this. You can make up literally anything you want. 5E's standard is NPCs that can do things PCs can't, no matter how hard they try.
You do not need a spellbook to cast spells, only to CHANGE the spells you prepare. The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn, as such I would rule it cannot use a spellbook to change it's spells, even if you make one. Also, they can never regain used spell slots, so it is unlikely they will ever want to make a spellbook, even if you ruled that they already know and can prepare the spells you know in your spellbook.
But simulacrums have all the current abilities of the subject. As such, Simulacrum should come with all the spells you currently prepared as prepared.
As a DM I would also argue that a Simulacrum can change it's spells, if a non wizard Character class allows it to changes spells when taking a long rest then the Simulacrum is also able to change spells. I would therefore argue that a Wizard knows all the spells in there spell book, what Preparing spells does is allow them to start the process of casting specific spells. A wizard does not "forget" spells he has not prepared, they are just not prepared. Therefore I am going to rule, both for my NPC but also for any other Simulacrum in my game that.
A) If it is a Wizard than it has learnt every spell the Wizard has in their spell book, but new spells can't be learnt by the Simulacrum (they can be added to the spell book if the Wizard wants a spare). B) If it is Non Wizard spell caster then it can prepare and change spells as per the rules of the class. C) As a Wizard it can pick which spells it can prepare every day, but, it can't regain spell slots.
Except for Rituals, which a Wizard can cast without spending a spell slot and does not have to have prepared.
Right. A wizard can cast any ritual spell directly from their own spellbook, but not from anyone else's.
So I have decided the NPC Big Bad wizard has written out a spell book for the Simulacrum, being an order of the scribes wizard the whole book would have taken him just a couple of days including plenty of time for doing other stuff. The Simulacrum can then use that spell book to get all the other benefits of an order of the scribe wizard.
Oh, you should have said this was for an NPC! NPCs aren't constrained by any rules for something like this. You can make up literally anything you want. 5E's standard is NPCs that can do things PCs can't, no matter how hard they try.
Ahh but when it comes to something players are familiar wit, for instance the simulacrum spell, I don;t like to magically have the NPC be able to do more with the spell then the players would be able to.
Looking around online general consensus seems to be that Wizard Simulacrum do need to have their own spell book, which the Wizard that made them can help them with writing and preparing and getting ready. An Order of the Scribes Simulacrum would need to get a spellbook and then attune to it in order for there abilities to kick in. it also seems to be general consensus that as per RAW Simulacrum Wizards can take full advantage of arcane recovery, meaning that given enough time a Simulacrum of a wizard could regain all spell slots up to level 6.
In part I want to get this right because they are about to have a fight with the Simulacrum (the Big Bad wants the party to think he has been killed). However as they are level 6 and the Big bad has access to 9th level spells (planned to be a recurring big bad). I will have the Simulacrum have "burnt" through a number of it's high level spells already.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The biggest issue for a Wizard creating a Simulacrum of itself is that the Simulacrum does not come with it's own spell book, and so needs the Wizard to write one out for it or have prepared to give to it.
But If an Order of Scribes wizard created a Simulacrum am I right in thinking that it will immediately be able to make the same Spell book as the Wizard that created it?
Asking as a DM who's current big bad is an order of scribes wizard and he likes making Simulacrums :)
I think rules as written this is unclear; the key issue is that you are "replacing" something that never existed, and it talks about "your spellbook’s consciousness is summoned into the new book", but would that be a new consciousness, or the consciousness from the original's spellbook?
Personally I'd be inclined to say that the simulacrum needs to create its own spellbook from scratch so that it can have an original to replace (and awaken), same as any other duplicated Wizard, but this is seems like a DM ruling situation so as DM you can decide however you want.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
You do not need a spellbook to cast spells, only to CHANGE the spells you prepare. The simulacrum lacks the ability to learn, as such I would rule it cannot use a spellbook to change it's spells, even if you make one. Also, they can never regain used spell slots, so it is unlikely they will ever want to make a spellbook, even if you ruled that they already know and can prepare the spells you know in your spellbook.
But simulacrums have all the current abilities of the subject. As such, Simulacrum should come with all the spells you currently prepared as prepared.
Except the spell slot you used to create the simulacrum.
Agree. And it will lack the spell slot you used to create the simulacrum as it is expended before it is formed.
And then you simply hand him over an arcane focus so it can cast all spells without costly components.
They could copy the original's spellbook, but if they wanted to just make their own instead of copying, they'd be limited to their prepared spells.
The Awakened Spellbook ability wouldn't let you circumvent this, as its (poorly written, since it's Tasha's) text only functions if you have a spellbook to awaken, and the simulacra don't. In other words, the class ability incorrectly assumes the wizard in question has a spellbook that can be magically copied. You have to step in as the DM and patch it to avoid word salad.
Except for Rituals, which a Wizard can cast without spending a spell slot and does not have to have prepared.
So I have decided the NPC Big Bad wizard has written out a spell book for the Simulacrum, being an order of the scribes wizard the whole book would have taken him just a couple of days including plenty of time for doing other stuff. The Simulacrum can then use that spell book to get all the other benefits of an order of the scribe wizard.
Right. A wizard can cast any ritual spell directly from their own spellbook, but not from anyone else's.
Oh, you should have said this was for an NPC! NPCs aren't constrained by any rules for something like this. You can make up literally anything you want. 5E's standard is NPCs that can do things PCs can't, no matter how hard they try.
As a DM I would also argue that a Simulacrum can change it's spells, if a non wizard Character class allows it to changes spells when taking a long rest then the Simulacrum is also able to change spells. I would therefore argue that a Wizard knows all the spells in there spell book, what Preparing spells does is allow them to start the process of casting specific spells. A wizard does not "forget" spells he has not prepared, they are just not prepared. Therefore I am going to rule, both for my NPC but also for any other Simulacrum in my game that.
A) If it is a Wizard than it has learnt every spell the Wizard has in their spell book, but new spells can't be learnt by the Simulacrum (they can be added to the spell book if the Wizard wants a spare).
B) If it is Non Wizard spell caster then it can prepare and change spells as per the rules of the class.
C) As a Wizard it can pick which spells it can prepare every day, but, it can't regain spell slots.
Ahh but when it comes to something players are familiar wit, for instance the simulacrum spell, I don;t like to magically have the NPC be able to do more with the spell then the players would be able to.
Looking around online general consensus seems to be that Wizard Simulacrum do need to have their own spell book, which the Wizard that made them can help them with writing and preparing and getting ready. An Order of the Scribes Simulacrum would need to get a spellbook and then attune to it in order for there abilities to kick in.
it also seems to be general consensus that as per RAW Simulacrum Wizards can take full advantage of arcane recovery, meaning that given enough time a Simulacrum of a wizard could regain all spell slots up to level 6.
In part I want to get this right because they are about to have a fight with the Simulacrum (the Big Bad wants the party to think he has been killed). However as they are level 6 and the Big bad has access to 9th level spells (planned to be a recurring big bad). I will have the Simulacrum have "burnt" through a number of it's high level spells already.