I am playing a Lv3 Goblin Barbarian / Path of the beast.
I have a question about Opportunity Attacks and the Tail when raging.
Tail. You grow a lashing, spiny tail, which deals 1d8 piercing damage on a hit and has the reach property. If a creature you can see within 10 feet of you hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to swipe your tail and roll a d8, applying a bonus to your AC equal to the number rolled, potentially causing the attack to miss you.
I can still hold my weapon and a shield because my hands are still free. If a hostile creature walks past me, can i do an Opportunity Attack with my weapon, as it tries to get to 10ft or is it only with my tail as it tries to get to 15ft?
I’d say only with the weapon as they leave your normal, 5’ reach. The tail can only be used as a reaction to being hit, so wouldn’t be allowed to make an OA.
Bear in mind you only get one reaction per turn, so if someone hits you, and you retaliate with your tail, you would not get an OA if they then left your reach.
I’d say only with the weapon as they leave your normal, 5’ reach. The tail can only be used as a reaction to being hit, so wouldn’t be allowed to make an OA.
That's incorrect. It's also a weapon, and thus it can be used to make opportunity attacks.
Bear in mind you only get one reaction per turn, so if someone hits you, and you retaliate with your tail, you would not get an OA if they then left your reach.
That is true.
I'm not really sure. You basically have two different reaches here. Some monsters have this too -- usually because of a tail! Dragons for example. I've usually seen it ruled that the monster can choose which reach it wants to use to trigger these attacks. Otherwise, you end up with archers being able to step away and shoot, and that doesn't feel like it makes any sense.
There might be an official rule for this. If there is, I'm not aware of it.
I can still hold my weapon and a shield because my hands are still free. If a hostile creature walks past me, can i do an Opportunity Attack with my weapon, as it tries to get to 10ft [...]?
I am playing a Lv3 Goblin Barbarian / Path of the beast.
I have a question about Opportunity Attacks and the Tail when raging.
Tail. You grow a lashing, spiny tail, which deals 1d8 piercing damage on a hit and has the reach property. If a creature you can see within 10 feet of you hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to swipe your tail and roll a d8, applying a bonus to your AC equal to the number rolled, potentially causing the attack to miss you.
I can still hold my weapon and a shield because my hands are still free. If a hostile creature walks past me, can i do an Opportunity Attack with my weapon, as it tries to get to 10ft or is it only with my tail as it tries to get to 15ft?
If you have two weapons with two different reaches, you have two chances to use your Reaction to make an opportunity attack. In each case, you can only make the attack with the weapon they're leaving the reach of. Let's say you're holding a club(just an example), and you've got your tail out. When a creature moves from 5' to 10' away, you can make an Opportunity Attack with your club. If you choose not to, and they continue moving from 10' to 15' away, you can then choose to use your tail to make an Opportunity Attack. You can NOT make both attacks before your next turn, because you still only have one Reaction. You can NOT attack with your tail when someone moves from 5' to 10', because they're not moving out of the tail's reach, only the club's.
Thx everyone for the clarification. I knew i would only get 1 OA, but in my head the melee weapon in my hand’s OA would be forfeit because my “reach” is wider because of the tail.
it’s good to know that i can still use my melee weapon when an enemy leaves the 5ft range.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am playing a Lv3 Goblin Barbarian / Path of the beast.
I have a question about Opportunity Attacks and the Tail when raging.
Tail. You grow a lashing, spiny tail, which deals 1d8 piercing damage on a hit and has the reach property. If a creature you can see within 10 feet of you hits you with an attack roll, you can use your reaction to swipe your tail and roll a d8, applying a bonus to your AC equal to the number rolled, potentially causing the attack to miss you.
I can still hold my weapon and a shield because my hands are still free. If a hostile creature walks past me, can i do an Opportunity Attack with my weapon, as it tries to get to 10ft or is it only with my tail as it tries to get to 15ft?
I’d say only with the weapon as they leave your normal, 5’ reach. The tail can only be used as a reaction to being hit, so wouldn’t be allowed to make an OA.Bear in mind you only get one reaction per turn, so if someone hits you, and you retaliate with your tail, you would not get an OA if they then left your reach.
Oops. Ignore the first part
That's incorrect. It's also a weapon, and thus it can be used to make opportunity attacks.
That is true.
I'm not really sure. You basically have two different reaches here. Some monsters have this too -- usually because of a tail! Dragons for example. I've usually seen it ruled that the monster can choose which reach it wants to use to trigger these attacks. Otherwise, you end up with archers being able to step away and shoot, and that doesn't feel like it makes any sense.
There might be an official rule for this. If there is, I'm not aware of it.
Thanks for the correction.
Yes.
If you have two weapons with two different reaches, you have two chances to use your Reaction to make an opportunity attack. In each case, you can only make the attack with the weapon they're leaving the reach of. Let's say you're holding a club(just an example), and you've got your tail out. When a creature moves from 5' to 10' away, you can make an Opportunity Attack with your club. If you choose not to, and they continue moving from 10' to 15' away, you can then choose to use your tail to make an Opportunity Attack. You can NOT make both attacks before your next turn, because you still only have one Reaction. You can NOT attack with your tail when someone moves from 5' to 10', because they're not moving out of the tail's reach, only the club's.
Thx everyone for the clarification. I knew i would only get 1 OA, but in my head the melee weapon in my hand’s OA would be forfeit because my “reach” is wider because of the tail.
it’s good to know that i can still use my melee weapon when an enemy leaves the 5ft range.