Regarding the ranger subclass, gloom stalker, which allows you to make an additional attack on the first action you make on the first round, does this mean they have three attacks on the first round?
It says "If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. If that attack hits, the target takes an extra 1d8 damage of the weapon’s damage type." It kinda means what it says. If you take the Attack action you get one more attack than you usually get. If you usually get one, now you get two. If you usually get two, now three. Plus that additional attack does an extra 1d8 damage, so you need to say which one is the Gloom Stalker attack before you roll to hit. This has no effect on things like getting a bonus attack for using two weapons, these continue completely as normal.
A little late, but I do have some info that might help some min-maxer out there, regarding the Fighter ability Action Surge:
Jeremy Crawford on Twitter: JC: "If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action." The extra attack is tied to the action.
Some Rando: So meaning an Action Surge would grant you another Dread Ambusher Attack, correct?
JC: That's Correct.
Take this ruling with a grain of salt; J. Crawford's opinions are not considered official doctrine by anybody I know, including myself, but as far as the internet says, you could theoretically get 6 attacks in one turn at level 7.
A little late, but I do have some info that might help some min-maxer out there, regarding the Fighter ability Action Surge:
Jeremy Crawford on Twitter: JC: "If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action." The extra attack is tied to the action.
Some Rando: So meaning an Action Surge would grant you another Dread Ambusher Attack, correct?
JC: That's Correct.
Take this ruling with a grain of salt; J. Crawford's opinions are not considered official doctrine by anybody I know, including myself, but as far as the internet says, you could theoretically get 6 attacks in one turn at level 7.
This ruling aling with RAW, Dreadful Ambusher is Attack action +1, so everytime you take the Attack action on your first turn of combat, you can make an additional one, this regardless if you have Extra Attack or not. The only time it wouldn't work is under Haste since it specifically limit the Attack action to 1 attack only.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Regarding the ranger subclass, gloom stalker, which allows you to make an additional attack on the first action you make on the first round, does this mean they have three attacks on the first round?
It says "If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action. If that attack hits, the target takes an extra 1d8 damage of the weapon’s damage type." It kinda means what it says. If you take the Attack action you get one more attack than you usually get. If you usually get one, now you get two. If you usually get two, now three. Plus that additional attack does an extra 1d8 damage, so you need to say which one is the Gloom Stalker attack before you roll to hit. This has no effect on things like getting a bonus attack for using two weapons, these continue completely as normal.
A little late, but I do have some info that might help some min-maxer out there, regarding the Fighter ability Action Surge:
Jeremy Crawford on Twitter:
JC: "If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action." The extra attack is tied to the action.
Some Rando: So meaning an Action Surge would grant you another Dread Ambusher Attack, correct?
JC: That's Correct.
Take this ruling with a grain of salt; J. Crawford's opinions are not considered official doctrine by anybody I know, including myself, but as far as the internet says, you could theoretically get 6 attacks in one turn at level 7.
Source
This ruling aling with RAW, Dreadful Ambusher is Attack action +1, so everytime you take the Attack action on your first turn of combat, you can make an additional one, this regardless if you have Extra Attack or not. The only time it wouldn't work is under Haste since it specifically limit the Attack action to 1 attack only.