I was looking through the rules of Druids to familiarize myself with the class because I was thinking about playing one, and I realized that one of the beasts that the Druid is eligible to turn into is a Giant Toad. Furthermore, there is only rules for what happens to creatures swallowed by the toad if the toad DIES. It doesn't say anything about what happens if the toad were to change forms. For example, reverting back to a druid. There's also nothing in the druid's wild shape feature that says what happens if you revert to your normal form after swallowing a creature in a beast form (probably because it's so rare).
If you were a DM'ing for a druid and ran into a situation like this, where the druid swallowed someone, then reverted to a humanoid form, what would you say happens? Would the swallowed creature be fine, just trapped in the Druid's (most likely severely distended) stomach with nowhere to go, or would you rule it continues taking the acid damage as if it was still trapped in the toad? Might the swallowed creature be forcefully ejected from the Druid, dealing force damage to them both? Is there some official ruling from Wizards of the Coast on a situation like this under 5e rules, and if so, what is it?
I always rule that combining size/shape changing with swallowed creatures always results in harmlessly ejecting the swallowed creature prone, since there is no written rule on how to handle these interactions.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I was looking through the rules of Druids to familiarize myself with the class because I was thinking about playing one, and I realized that one of the beasts that the Druid is eligible to turn into is a Giant Toad. Furthermore, there is only rules for what happens to creatures swallowed by the toad if the toad DIES. It doesn't say anything about what happens if the toad were to change forms. For example, reverting back to a druid. There's also nothing in the druid's wild shape feature that says what happens if you revert to your normal form after swallowing a creature in a beast form (probably because it's so rare).
If you were a DM'ing for a druid and ran into a situation like this, where the druid swallowed someone, then reverted to a humanoid form, what would you say happens? Would the swallowed creature be fine, just trapped in the Druid's (most likely severely distended) stomach with nowhere to go, or would you rule it continues taking the acid damage as if it was still trapped in the toad? Might the swallowed creature be forcefully ejected from the Druid, dealing force damage to them both? Is there some official ruling from Wizards of the Coast on a situation like this under 5e rules, and if so, what is it?
Swallowed creature would be, more or less, spit out and be in an adjacent square. Probably prone.
I always rule that combining size/shape changing with swallowed creatures always results in harmlessly ejecting the swallowed creature prone, since there is no written rule on how to handle these interactions.