Relevant bit: "You choose a 5-foot-square unoccupied space on the ground that you can see within range. A Medium hand made from compacted soil rises there"
If the hand is summoned in a narrow 5 foot wide and high corridor, presumably small or larger enemies could not pass it? And since the spell doesn't give the hand hit points and AC, it's not clear how one would destroy it, or if by RAW that's even possible? Am I missing something? What would you rule as appropriate stats for destroying the hand?
I suppose that reading is technically plausible, but since the hand is made of soil (unlike a spectral guardian dude) and is medium sized, it would be weird for it not to occupy its space. On the other hand, and in support of your conclusion, the PHB as far as I can tell only ever talks about CREATURES occupying space, which the hand is not, so a realistic interpretation could be that the hand isn't 5 feet wide (whether it occupies 5ft or not) and therefore squeezing around it is possible, especially since it's not actively trying to stop hostiles from doing that (like a creature typically would).
Spell mechanics are explicitly defined. Something like occupying space is significant and will be mentioned, if it is in play. For another comparison, you can check out Wall of Stone.
Everything else is just flavor text.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Spell in question: http://dnd5e.*******.com/spell:maximillians-earthen-grasp
Relevant bit: "You choose a 5-foot-square unoccupied space on the ground that you can see within range. A Medium hand made from compacted soil rises there"
If the hand is summoned in a narrow 5 foot wide and high corridor, presumably small or larger enemies could not pass it? And since the spell doesn't give the hand hit points and AC, it's not clear how one would destroy it, or if by RAW that's even possible? Am I missing something? What would you rule as appropriate stats for destroying the hand?
Unlike Guardian of Faith, Maximilian's Earthen Grasp doesn't say that it occupies its space, so it shouldn't interfere with creatures who wish to pass through its space.
I suppose that reading is technically plausible, but since the hand is made of soil (unlike a spectral guardian dude) and is medium sized, it would be weird for it not to occupy its space. On the other hand, and in support of your conclusion, the PHB as far as I can tell only ever talks about CREATURES occupying space, which the hand is not, so a realistic interpretation could be that the hand isn't 5 feet wide (whether it occupies 5ft or not) and therefore squeezing around it is possible, especially since it's not actively trying to stop hostiles from doing that (like a creature typically would).
Spell mechanics are explicitly defined. Something like occupying space is significant and will be mentioned, if it is in play. For another comparison, you can check out Wall of Stone.
Everything else is just flavor text.