So I ran across a thought process while researching a character. I am aware that all things are up to the DM, so for the sake of discussion I'd like thoughts based on RAW and your thoughts if you were the DM. Also, I am fully aware that I'm trying to hack the system. My group of players does stuff like this constantly, but it's got a better case if it's a RAW loophole.
To begin with the rules for artificer state;
"If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement"
So then I go to replicate magic item and it says;
"In the tables, an item's entry tells you whether the item requires attunement"
So first question, is the attunement here for the purpose of other characters to attune too it? Does the artificer still attune to it instantly?
Assuming the artificer still attunes to it instantly regardless of normal attunement requirements, then I develop another thought. Since the artificer can now replicate any common item, then can they bypass attunement requirements for common items that have a class requirement?
Because if the class requirement doesn't apply at the time of infusion, then it seems if I replicate a dark shard amulet, I would gain yhe ability to cast cantrips from the warlock spell class as long as I make a DC 10 Arcana check.
Of course, I would expect to have to go find a "single shard of resilient extraplanar material originating from the realm of a warlock patron" which seems like it would require its own quest, but it is a common item apparently.
I believe the ability only means you don't need to take a short rest to attune to the item, mostly as a bookkeeping simplification so the party doesn't need to finish their long rest and then immediately chain a short rest onto it so the Artificer can attune the item. Any item that requires attunement will require anyone who wishes to use it to attune to it. Regarding the idea of cheesing around prerequisites with this feature, I believe the "Specific Trumps General" rule says that the specific requirement of meeting the prereq is not overwritten by a general ability to skip the time requirement granted by the feature.
First question answer: if an item require attunement it is required no matter who has it. The artificer infusing the item just has the advantage to attune to it at the time of infusing.
Nowhere in the artificer’s class does it say you can bypass any prerequisites for an item, just the attuning process. So if an item has a class restriction you are still bound by that. edit: see Drakkon’s correction below
Sorry 14th level they can do exactly that and ignore class/races restrictions to both attune and use the item
Magic Item Savant
At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more:
You can attune to up to five magic items at once.
You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using a magic item.
I stand corrected. Thank you for pointing that out. I’m not sure if that was the OP was getting at but once they hit level 24 they can indeed ignore the prerequisites as described.
So I ran across a thought process while researching a character. I am aware that all things are up to the DM, so for the sake of discussion I'd like thoughts based on RAW and your thoughts if you were the DM. Also, I am fully aware that I'm trying to hack the system. My group of players does stuff like this constantly, but it's got a better case if it's a RAW loophole.
To begin with the rules for artificer state;
"If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement"
So then I go to replicate magic item and it says;
"In the tables, an item's entry tells you whether the item requires attunement"
So first question, is the attunement here for the purpose of other characters to attune too it? Does the artificer still attune to it instantly?
Assuming the artificer still attunes to it instantly regardless of normal attunement requirements, then I develop another thought. Since the artificer can now replicate any common item, then can they bypass attunement requirements for common items that have a class requirement?
Because if the class requirement doesn't apply at the time of infusion, then it seems if I replicate a dark shard amulet, I would gain yhe ability to cast cantrips from the warlock spell class as long as I make a DC 10 Arcana check.
Of course, I would expect to have to go find a "single shard of resilient extraplanar material originating from the realm of a warlock patron" which seems like it would require its own quest, but it is a common item apparently.
I believe the ability only means you don't need to take a short rest to attune to the item, mostly as a bookkeeping simplification so the party doesn't need to finish their long rest and then immediately chain a short rest onto it so the Artificer can attune the item. Any item that requires attunement will require anyone who wishes to use it to attune to it. Regarding the idea of cheesing around prerequisites with this feature, I believe the "Specific Trumps General" rule says that the specific requirement of meeting the prereq is not overwritten by a general ability to skip the time requirement granted by the feature.
First question answer: if an item require attunement it is required no matter who has it. The artificer infusing the item just has the advantage to attune to it at the time of infusing.
Nowhere in the artificer’s class does it say you can bypass any prerequisites for an item, just the attuning process. So if an item has a class restriction you are still bound by that.edit: see Drakkon’s correction belowEZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Sorry 14th level they can do exactly that and ignore class/races restrictions to both attune and use the item
Magic Item Savant
At 14th level, your skill with magic items deepens more:
I stand corrected. Thank you for pointing that out. I’m not sure if that was the OP was getting at but once they hit level 24 they can indeed ignore the prerequisites as described.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?