The wizard subclass Order of Scribes has an Awakened Spellbook feature that reads...
When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell’s formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.
You call forth a draconic spirit. It manifests in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. This corporeal form uses the Draconic Spirit stat block. When you cast this spell, choose a family of dragon: chromatic, gem, or metallic...
Breath Weapon. The dragon exhales destructive energy in a 30-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a Dexterity saving throw against your spell save DC. A creature takes 2d6 damage of a type this dragon has resistance to (your choice) on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.
As a summoning spell I would normally consider Summon Draconic Spirit to be ineligible to alter damage types for other fifth-level spells; however, it summons a created monster that only exists via spell effect. Notably, unless I am missing something, it is also the only fifth-level wizard spell that offers 5+ damage types; all other spell levels have at least one such spell that can work with Awakened Spellbook.
Do you feel that Summon Draconic Spirit can work with Awakened Spellbook to alter damage types? Please give a clear reason why!
The argument can be made that the damage types don’t appear in the spell, only in the stat block. you are Summoning a spirit not a damage effect
The stat block is there as a reference, not part of the spell description, since it’s not like you can look it up in the monster manual like you could for conjure animals.
The stat block appears in the spell even if it is not part of the spell's description, and that is good enough for the awakened spellbook's requirement as written. It seems arbitrary to me for us to treat it as something separate from the spell when the creature created by the spell can only exist when the spell is cast. Summon draconic spirit is a fifth level spell and the following damage types appear in this spell: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, force, necrotic, psychic, radiant, thunder. That pretty much means you can pick any of these ten damage types to use with another wizard spell when you cast that spell at 5th level.
Thanks all! Based on the responses I feel Summon Draconic Spirit leans towards working with Awakened Spellbook. I will rule it that way when I DM and will verify with my DM's opinion if I use it as a player.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The wizard subclass Order of Scribes has an Awakened Spellbook feature that reads...
The fifth-level spell Summon Draconic Spirit and part of its stat block reads...
As a summoning spell I would normally consider Summon Draconic Spirit to be ineligible to alter damage types for other fifth-level spells; however, it summons a created monster that only exists via spell effect. Notably, unless I am missing something, it is also the only fifth-level wizard spell that offers 5+ damage types; all other spell levels have at least one such spell that can work with Awakened Spellbook.
Do you feel that Summon Draconic Spirit can work with Awakened Spellbook to alter damage types? Please give a clear reason why!
I believe it does. The damage dealt by the Draconic Spirit is a specified part of the spell, so it should absolutely apply.
The argument can be made that the damage types don’t appear in the spell, only in the stat block. you are Summoning a spirit not a damage effect
The stat block is there as a reference, not part of the spell description, since it’s not like you can look it up in the monster manual like you could for conjure animals.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
The stat block appears in the spell even if it is not part of the spell's description, and that is good enough for the awakened spellbook's requirement as written. It seems arbitrary to me for us to treat it as something separate from the spell when the creature created by the spell can only exist when the spell is cast. Summon draconic spirit is a fifth level spell and the following damage types appear in this spell: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, force, necrotic, psychic, radiant, thunder. That pretty much means you can pick any of these ten damage types to use with another wizard spell when you cast that spell at 5th level.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Thanks all! Based on the responses I feel Summon Draconic Spirit leans towards working with Awakened Spellbook. I will rule it that way when I DM and will verify with my DM's opinion if I use it as a player.