Since the Conjure animals say the number of beasts you can summon ... is it possible to summon a swarm of rats (CR 1/4) even if it is compose of multiples Tiny beasts Or am I restricted to individual beasts (like a velociraptor as an exemple of CR 1/4) ?
That means I can ask my DM if I could have access to a new spell that calls swarms of the same CR as conjure animals (Conjure Swarm instead of conjure animals).
I'd argue that a swarm is still only one beast rules-wise. The type specifier in their stat block states beast (for example in the case of Swarm of Poisonous Snakes), and their power level is balanced to be a single beast as well. So I'd allow conjuration of swarms via Conjure Animals.
Also the fact that there are no Summon Swarms spells and that dndbeyond specifically lists swarms as potential results of Conjure Animals is an indicator.
I think twitter advice has said no to that, and many DMs would agree. I would allow it if it were appropriate to the style of the Druid in question: some Gothic Druid turning into a flock of ravens, Yuan-Ti Druid dissolving into a mess of snakes, a Circle of Spores Druid bursting apart into a swarm of plague rats.
Old post but I would like to point out, if you allow swarms to be summoned with this spell that means you could summon a "swarm of rot grubs" which can easily kill most anything if the swarm lands one attack.
I'd argue that a swarm is still only one beast rules-wise. The type specifier in their stat block states beast (for example in the case of Swarm of Poisonous Snakes), and their power level is balanced to be a single beast as well. So I'd allow conjuration of swarms via Conjure Animals.
Also the fact that there are no Summon Swarms spells and that dndbeyond specifically lists swarms as potential results of Conjure Animals is an indicator.
no it doesnt, I dont see anywhere on the dndbeyond page claiming you can summon a swarm. The only mention on the page you linked of a swarm was to mention how summoning an 8 creature swarm can slow down play...
the spell says you summon "fey spirits that take the form of beasts" and yes swarms are beasts but if you look it's not just beast it's "SWARM of tiny BEASTS" so with the plural beasts and the mention "swarm of" seems to point that you could summon the individuals that make up a swarm...but to actually summon "Swarm of ____" it's still very open or to some clearly not in the spell.
I'd argue that a swarm is still only one beast rules-wise. The type specifier in their stat block states beast (for example in the case of Swarm of Poisonous Snakes), and their power level is balanced to be a single beast as well. So I'd allow conjuration of swarms via Conjure Animals.
Also the fact that there are no Summon Swarms spells and that dndbeyond specifically lists swarms as potential results of Conjure Animals is an indicator.
no it doesnt, I dont see anywhere on the dndbeyond page claiming you can summon a swarm. The only mention on the page you linked of a swarm was to mention how summoning an 8 creature swarm can slow down play...
the spell says you summon "fey spirits that take the form of beasts" and yes swarms are beasts but if you look it's not just beast it's "SWARM of tiny BEASTS" so with the plural beasts and the mention "swarm of" seems to point that you could summon the individuals that make up a swarm...but to actually summon "Swarm of ____" it's still very open or to some clearly not in the spell.
A swarm has a single stat block. So it's the same as any beast.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi,
Since the Conjure animals say the number of beasts you can summon ... is it possible to summon a swarm of rats (CR 1/4) even if it is compose of multiples Tiny beasts
Or am I restricted to individual beasts (like a velociraptor as an exemple of CR 1/4) ?
Thanks.
Yes, technically you can't use Conjure Animals to summon swarms because they are collections of beasts. You are restricted to individual beasts.
That means I can ask my DM if I could have access to a new spell that calls swarms of the same CR as conjure animals (Conjure Swarm instead of conjure animals).
I'd argue that a swarm is still only one beast rules-wise. The type specifier in their stat block states beast (for example in the case of Swarm of Poisonous Snakes), and their power level is balanced to be a single beast as well. So I'd allow conjuration of swarms via Conjure Animals.
Also the fact that there are no Summon Swarms spells and that dndbeyond specifically lists swarms as potential results of Conjure Animals is an indicator.
Do then can you wildshape into a swarm?
Old post but I would like to point out, if you allow swarms to be summoned with this spell that means you could summon a "swarm of rot grubs" which can easily kill most anything if the swarm lands one attack.
no it doesnt, I dont see anywhere on the dndbeyond page claiming you can summon a swarm. The only mention on the page you linked of a swarm was to mention how summoning an 8 creature swarm can slow down play...
the spell says you summon "fey spirits that take the form of beasts" and yes swarms are beasts but if you look it's not just beast it's "SWARM of tiny BEASTS" so with the plural beasts and the mention "swarm of" seems to point that you could summon the individuals that make up a swarm...but to actually summon "Swarm of ____" it's still very open or to some clearly not in the spell.
A swarm has a single stat block. So it's the same as any beast.