When utilising the subclass features of path of the giant barbarian, does the great weapon fighting fighting style that fighters have access to allow you to reroll 1s and 2s if you decide to treat, say, a greatsword as a thrown weapon using the path of the giant barbarian's subclass feature at level 6? As technically it's not versatile, and is a two handed weapon, but I'm unsure if it being thrown has any bearing on this. The fighting style doesn't specify melee attack, just melee weapon, so at first glance I figure it *might* work but I could be wrong.
Yes a melee weapon such as a greatsword gaining the thrown property due to your Elemental Cleaver feature would reroll damage with Great Weapon Fighting Style feature on both melee and ranged attacks. Infusing a ranged weapon on the other hand wouldn't though.
The relevant text is "When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2." I would definitely say that if you need two hands to swing it, you need two hands to throw it, so it all comes down to whether throwing counts as wielding. If I was the DM, I'd probably allow it just for the sake of fun and because the potential damage boost isn't large enough to break the game.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Just a small ruling question:
When utilising the subclass features of path of the giant barbarian, does the great weapon fighting fighting style that fighters have access to allow you to reroll 1s and 2s if you decide to treat, say, a greatsword as a thrown weapon using the path of the giant barbarian's subclass feature at level 6? As technically it's not versatile, and is a two handed weapon, but I'm unsure if it being thrown has any bearing on this. The fighting style doesn't specify melee attack, just melee weapon, so at first glance I figure it *might* work but I could be wrong.
Thanks.
Yes a melee weapon such as a greatsword gaining the thrown property due to your Elemental Cleaver feature would reroll damage with Great Weapon Fighting Style feature on both melee and ranged attacks. Infusing a ranged weapon on the other hand wouldn't though.
The relevant text is "When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2." I would definitely say that if you need two hands to swing it, you need two hands to throw it, so it all comes down to whether throwing counts as wielding. If I was the DM, I'd probably allow it just for the sake of fun and because the potential damage boost isn't large enough to break the game.