Can a sorcerer up level a charm spell to 2nd level and still twin it and affect 3 or 4 targets? Or is it because the up level to 2nd already makes 2 targets so it can't be twinned to do more?
When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level. For example, magic missile and scorching ray aren’t eligible, but ray of frost and chromatic orb are.
So, can the spell you want to cast affect more than one target at the level you are casting it? If the answer is yes you cannot use Twinned Spell, if the answer is no, you can use Twinned Spell.
Charm Person cast at 2nd level or higher will affect more than one creature so you cannot use it with Twinned Spell if you cast at 2nd level or higher.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Thank you for the clarification, also, in charm person it says when you or your companions are fighting it, the humanoid gets advantage on the save. How do you perceive that? Is it when you or your companions actually swing an attack at the person, or is it when initiative is rolled? Thanks again.
Yeah, "fighting" meaning in a combat with, so after an initiative roll where the other creature intends to attack you (rather than specifically engaged in attack rolls at this very moment). This is to indicate that this spell is designed primarily for use outside of combat to grant advantage on social rolls, or just before combat to prevent attacks from the charmed targets.
As mentioned, you can't twin any spell that targets more than one creature at the level it is being cast. You can twin a level 4 eldritch blast but not a level 5 for example.
As for when advantage kicks in on charm saves ... this is a DM call ... but as soon as combat is imminent I would think the advantage would apply. Usually this would be defined by rolling for initiative. However, as a DM, I would not allow a player to suddenly jump in and say "I cast charm" just before the DM calls for an initiative roll ... assuming that it was pretty clear that combat was about to start. The player would need to choose to cast charm somewhat surreptitiously before the situation falls apart into an open confrontation (even if initiative hasn't been rolled yet ... but that is all a DM call based on the specifics of the situation).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello all,
Can a sorcerer up level a charm spell to 2nd level and still twin it and affect 3 or 4 targets? Or is it because the up level to 2nd already makes 2 targets so it can't be twinned to do more?
Thank you all!
So, can the spell you want to cast affect more than one target at the level you are casting it? If the answer is yes you cannot use Twinned Spell, if the answer is no, you can use Twinned Spell.
Charm Person cast at 2nd level or higher will affect more than one creature so you cannot use it with Twinned Spell if you cast at 2nd level or higher.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Thank you for the clarification, also, in charm person it says when you or your companions are fighting it, the humanoid gets advantage on the save. How do you perceive that? Is it when you or your companions actually swing an attack at the person, or is it when initiative is rolled? Thanks again.
Yeah, "fighting" meaning in a combat with, so after an initiative roll where the other creature intends to attack you (rather than specifically engaged in attack rolls at this very moment). This is to indicate that this spell is designed primarily for use outside of combat to grant advantage on social rolls, or just before combat to prevent attacks from the charmed targets.
As mentioned, you can't twin any spell that targets more than one creature at the level it is being cast. You can twin a level 4 eldritch blast but not a level 5 for example.
As for when advantage kicks in on charm saves ... this is a DM call ... but as soon as combat is imminent I would think the advantage would apply. Usually this would be defined by rolling for initiative. However, as a DM, I would not allow a player to suddenly jump in and say "I cast charm" just before the DM calls for an initiative roll ... assuming that it was pretty clear that combat was about to start. The player would need to choose to cast charm somewhat surreptitiously before the situation falls apart into an open confrontation (even if initiative hasn't been rolled yet ... but that is all a DM call based on the specifics of the situation).