So I`m playing a Hit-and-Run Draconic Sorcerer build. Both Dragon`s Breath and my Flight are activated on a bonus action. Would I be able to cast Dragon`s Breath as a Bonus Action and Activate Flight as an action, granted I take no other actions on that turn? Same could apply to Moon Druid Transforming and Shillelagh.
So I`m playing a Hit-and-Run Draconic Sorcerer build. Both Dragon`s Breath and my Flight are activated on a bonus action. Would I be able to cast Dragon`s Breath as a Bonus Action and Activate Flight as an action, granted I take no other actions on that turn? Same could apply to Moon Druid Transforming and Shillelagh.
No you only get one bonus action a turn and if something is a bonus action thats the only time it can be used. So You could pick EITHER flight or your breath weapon not both since they use the same action. Now you might be able to talk to your Dm but that would be up to them. But RAW you cannot take something that is a bonus action and turn it into an regular action.
Nope, actions are actions, and bonus actions are bonus actions. They are mutually-exclusive.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
As others have said, no, you can't take two bonus actions in Rules As Written. Your DM might allow it on a case-by-case basis, but they shouldn't allow bonus actions as actions by default because it could introduce some potential exploits; probably not in this case specifically though.
However I'd question why you want to do this; a Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer's wings don't have a time limit or limited uses, so once you've summoned the wings as a bonus action you're under no obligation to ever put them away. You might do it if they're getting in the way, or to adopt a disguise or such, but otherwise you can just keep them out permanently if you want to.
Likewise, why cast dragon's breath if you're not going to use it on the same turn? You'd just be wasting one of the ten turns of its duration, better to just save it for your next turn when you can also use its action. Although I guess if you're casting it on someone else so they can use it that might make sense?
Moon Druid would raise the same question of why you want shillelagh active if you're not going to benefit from it? However in that specific case you don't need to take two bonus actions; Combat Wild Shape gives you the ability to Wild Shape as a bonus action, but it doesn't say you can't Wild Shape as an action as normal if you prefer.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
So I`m playing a Hit-and-Run Draconic Sorcerer build. Both Dragon`s Breath and my Flight are activated on a bonus action. Would I be able to cast Dragon`s Breath as a Bonus Action and Activate Flight as an action, granted I take no other actions on that turn? Same could apply to Moon Druid Transforming and Shillelagh.
You can't actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable. If interested there is a Sage Advice Compendium Q&A on this.
Can a bonus action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a bard use a bonus action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die and an action to cast healing word?
No. Actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable. In the example, the bard could use Bardic Inspiration or healing word on a turn, not both.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I`m playing a Hit-and-Run Draconic Sorcerer build. Both Dragon`s Breath and my Flight are activated on a bonus action. Would I be able to cast Dragon`s Breath as a Bonus Action and Activate Flight as an action, granted I take no other actions on that turn? Same could apply to Moon Druid Transforming and Shillelagh.
Studded Leather: He does exactly what I do
Natural Armor: But better
No you only get one bonus action a turn and if something is a bonus action thats the only time it can be used. So You could pick EITHER flight or your breath weapon not both since they use the same action. Now you might be able to talk to your Dm but that would be up to them. But RAW you cannot take something that is a bonus action and turn it into an regular action.
Nope, actions are actions, and bonus actions are bonus actions. They are mutually-exclusive.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
As others have said, no, you can't take two bonus actions in Rules As Written. Your DM might allow it on a case-by-case basis, but they shouldn't allow bonus actions as actions by default because it could introduce some potential exploits; probably not in this case specifically though.
However I'd question why you want to do this; a Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer's wings don't have a time limit or limited uses, so once you've summoned the wings as a bonus action you're under no obligation to ever put them away. You might do it if they're getting in the way, or to adopt a disguise or such, but otherwise you can just keep them out permanently if you want to.
Likewise, why cast dragon's breath if you're not going to use it on the same turn? You'd just be wasting one of the ten turns of its duration, better to just save it for your next turn when you can also use its action. Although I guess if you're casting it on someone else so they can use it that might make sense?
Moon Druid would raise the same question of why you want shillelagh active if you're not going to benefit from it? However in that specific case you don't need to take two bonus actions; Combat Wild Shape gives you the ability to Wild Shape as a bonus action, but it doesn't say you can't Wild Shape as an action as normal if you prefer.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
You can't actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable. If interested there is a Sage Advice Compendium Q&A on this.