Could you cast a spell that has a saving throw, and then force someone to reroll using silvery barbs?
Specific example: Cast Otiluke's Resilient sphere on target, then cast silvery barbs as reaction if they succeed the save.
According to the rules, you can only cast one levelled spell per turn, but reactions are usually not in your turn. Would casting silvery barbs, after casting the saving throw spell, count as two levelled spells per round, or does this rule not care about reactions (whenever they happen).
According to the rules, you can only cast one levelled spell per turn
No, that's not what the rules says. The rule is that if you cast a spell with a Bonus action then any other spell you cast on the same turn can only be a cantrip.
But if you cast Compelled Duel (which takes a Bonus action) then you could NOT cast Silvery Barbs on the target if he passes. Thankfully there are very few BA spells that requires a save when cast.
Could you cast a spell that has a saving throw, and then force someone to reroll using silvery barbs?
Specific example: Cast Otiluke's Resilient sphere on target, then cast silvery barbs as reaction if they succeed the save.
According to the rules, you can only cast one levelled spell per turn, but reactions are usually not in your turn. Would casting silvery barbs, after casting the saving throw spell, count as two levelled spells per round, or does this rule not care about reactions (whenever they happen).
No, that's not what the rules says. The rule is that if you cast a spell with a Bonus action then any other spell you cast on the same turn can only be a cantrip.
Yes, as long as you adhere the rule above.
So if you cast Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere (which takes an Action) then you could cast Silvery Barbs on the target if he passes.
But if you cast Compelled Duel (which takes a Bonus action) then you could NOT cast Silvery Barbs on the target if he passes. Thankfully there are very few BA spells that requires a save when cast.