My game master allowed my druid to have some mithril studded leather armor +1. Aside from whether a druid can wear metal studs, it has a property that negates critical hits on my character, turning them into regular damage. When I assume wildshape and the stuff I am wearing melds into the beast form, does this negating property travel with me? I know the rules say the AC becomes that of the beastie, but we couldn't seem to find a rule. TIA.
My game master allowed my druid to have some mithril studded leather armor +1. Aside from whether a druid can wear metal studs, it has a property that negates critical hits on my character, turning them into regular damage. When I assume wildshape and the stuff I am wearing melds into the beast form, does this negating property travel with me? I know the rules say the AC becomes that of the beastie, but we couldn't seem to find a rule. TIA.
Yes the magic armor will grant no benefit because equipment that merges with the form has no effect until you leave the form.
Wild Shape: You choose whether your equipment falls to the ground in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it. Worn equipment functions as normal, but the DM decides whether it is practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment, based on the creature’s shape and size. Your equipment doesn’t change size or shape to match the new form, and any equipment that the new form can’t wear must either fall to the ground or merge with it. Equipment that merges with the form has no effect until you leave the form.
If the DM has already ruled the armor is essentially cached while you’re transformed, none of its properties should apply. Magic items can only remain active during Wildshape if the DM rules they fit the new form rather than being absorbed and cached during the transformation.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My game master allowed my druid to have some mithril studded leather armor +1. Aside from whether a druid can wear metal studs, it has a property that negates critical hits on my character, turning them into regular damage. When I assume wildshape and the stuff I am wearing melds into the beast form, does this negating property travel with me? I know the rules say the AC becomes that of the beastie, but we couldn't seem to find a rule. TIA.
Yes the magic armor will grant no benefit because equipment that merges with the form has no effect until you leave the form.
If the DM has already ruled the armor is essentially cached while you’re transformed, none of its properties should apply. Magic items can only remain active during Wildshape if the DM rules they fit the new form rather than being absorbed and cached during the transformation.