When you are reduced to 0 hit points but not killed outright, you can drop to 1 hit point instead. You can’t use this feature again until you finish a long rest.
Shadow magic Sorcerer grants this feature:
Strength of the Grave
Starting at 1st level, your existence in a twilight state between life and death makes you difficult to defeat. When damage reduces you to 0 hit points, you can make a Charisma saving throw (DC 5 + the damage taken). On a success, you instead drop to 1 hit point. You can't use this feature if you are reduced to 0 hit points by radiant damage or by a critical hit.
After the saving throw succeeds, you can't use this feature again until you finish a long rest.
When this charater is dropped to 0 hp, how these two features result? Can the player choose which one is applied? What if the Charisma roll of Strenght of the Grave fails, can the Relentless Endurance feature still be used?
Both features use the phrase “you can”, so that implies you can choose whether or not to use each feature. So, I’d say you can choose to use either, both or neither feature when you would drop to 0 HP.
Both features use the phrase “you can”, so that implies you can choose whether or not to use each feature. So, I’d say you can choose to use either, both or neither feature when you would drop to 0 HP.
This is correct. The "you can" wording means you choose whether or not to activate each ability(you may not want to if you know that an ally will heal you right away, for example). Since neither of them uses your action/bonus action/reaction/etc I suppose you could theoretically activate both at the same time, but there would be no point. The racial ability is an automatic success, so triggering your Sorcerer ability at the same time would just waste it.
Seems ok to me. I don't think that any time actually elapses while choosing and attempting a saving throw in response to a trigger -- so that same trigger should still be there to be able to respond with the other feature if using that first feature doesn't work.
I could see some DMs trying to be picky about it though and requiring you to declare which features are used before they are resolved since the time spent to fully resolve one feature might "use up" the trigger. In other words, does the mere fact that you make these decisions sequentially instead of simultaneously mean that some time MUST have passed between these two decisions and therefore there is no longer a trigger? That might be a valid interpretation also.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello,
half-orc has Relentless Endurance feature
Shadow magic Sorcerer grants this feature:
When this charater is dropped to 0 hp, how these two features result? Can the player choose which one is applied? What if the Charisma roll of Strenght of the Grave fails, can the Relentless Endurance feature still be used?
There isn't anything in the core rules that dictate how to resolve simultaneous events. Xanathar's Guide to Everything however added optional rules that area this: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/xgte/dungeon-masters-tools#SimultaneousEffects
According to XGtE the who's turn it is when you drop to 0hp decides which order Relentless Endurance and Strength of the Grave apply.
For this case though I would probably rule that the creature dropping to 0hp decides which order to apply the effects that trigger on dropping to 0hp.
Both features use the phrase “you can”, so that implies you can choose whether or not to use each feature. So, I’d say you can choose to use either, both or neither feature when you would drop to 0 HP.
This is correct. The "you can" wording means you choose whether or not to activate each ability(you may not want to if you know that an ally will heal you right away, for example). Since neither of them uses your action/bonus action/reaction/etc I suppose you could theoretically activate both at the same time, but there would be no point. The racial ability is an automatic success, so triggering your Sorcerer ability at the same time would just waste it.
Can I activate first the Sorcerer ability to see if it works, and then, if the Charisma check fails, activate the half-orc ability?
Seems ok to me. I don't think that any time actually elapses while choosing and attempting a saving throw in response to a trigger -- so that same trigger should still be there to be able to respond with the other feature if using that first feature doesn't work.
I could see some DMs trying to be picky about it though and requiring you to declare which features are used before they are resolved since the time spent to fully resolve one feature might "use up" the trigger. In other words, does the mere fact that you make these decisions sequentially instead of simultaneously mean that some time MUST have passed between these two decisions and therefore there is no longer a trigger? That might be a valid interpretation also.