Playing a cleric (twilight) for first time. Just making sure I understand how spiritual weapon works. Not trying to optimize or get opinions on whether it's a "good" spell or not; just trying to understand it correctly. I'll use a specific combat example/scenario.
ROUND ONE: (1) ACTION- use channel divinity (2) MOVEMENT if necessary (3) BONUS ACTION- cast and use spiritual weapon. Not a concentration spell and as written, it simply stays there. ROUND TWO: ACTION- cast a spell (2) MOVEMENT if necessary (3) BONUS ACTION- use spiritual weapon ...can attack or move it and attack.
As I understand it ...the round two example is allowed because the action was casting a spell, the bonus action is NOT CASTING a spell just using something that is already in place.
Is that pretty much correct or am I overlooking something? Thanks
Yes. Using an action (or bonus action) granted to you by a spell is not the same as casting a spell and thus it won't trigger the limitations on spellcasting that comes from casting spells with a bonus action.
Hmm...not gonna lie, I am usually decent at catching nuances in the wording of spells and rulings, but this one has me a bit off kilter now.
Does it actually require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon make an attack, or just a bonus action to move? I was under the impression it was a bonus action to move it, and then if possible it could make an attack, but not as part of or because of the bonus action.
EDIT: If it were stationary and near an enemy, does that require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon Attack I guess would be more precise in what I am asking.
Hmm...not gonna lie, I am usually decent at catching nuances in the wording of spells and rulings, but this one has me a bit off kilter now.
Does it actually require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon make an attack, or just a bonus action to move? I was under the impression it was a bonus action to move it, and then if possible it could make an attack, but not as part of or because of the bonus action.
EDIT: If it were stationary and near an enemy, does that require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon Attack I guess would be more precise in what I am asking.
Yes. The spell requires the use of a bonus action to attack with the spiritual weapon.
"As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the weapon up to 20 feetand repeat the attack against a creature within 5 feet of it."
As a bonus action, you can move the weapon up to 20' and make an attack with it. "Up to 20'" includes not moving it at all. For the bonus action, you can (but don't have to) move the weapon and then make an attack with the weapon. The bonus action cost is not just for the movement - it is for the attack combined with a move of up to 20' - which includes not moving if that is what is desired.
Hmm...not gonna lie, I am usually decent at catching nuances in the wording of spells and rulings, but this one has me a bit off kilter now.
Does it actually require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon make an attack, or just a bonus action to move? I was under the impression it was a bonus action to move it, and then if possible it could make an attack, but not as part of or because of the bonus action.
EDIT: If it were stationary and near an enemy, does that require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon Attack I guess would be more precise in what I am asking.
Aside from the attack you can make when you cast the spell, absolutely nothing in the spell’s text allows you to make an attack as anything other than a bonus action, which can also include up to 20 feet of movement.
Thank you, because I honestly have no idea how that escaped my attention for so long, lol. That will shore up some of my insight into why it was so darn powerful.
Playing a cleric (twilight) for first time. Just making sure I understand how spiritual weapon works. Not trying to optimize or get opinions on whether it's a "good" spell or not; just trying to understand it correctly. I'll use a specific combat example/scenario.
ROUND ONE: (1) ACTION- use channel divinity (2) MOVEMENT if necessary (3) BONUS ACTION- cast and use spiritual weapon. Not a concentration spell and as written, it simply stays there. ROUND TWO: ACTION- cast a spell (2) MOVEMENT if necessary (3) BONUS ACTION- use spiritual weapon ...can attack or move it and attack.
As I understand it ...the round two example is allowed because the action was casting a spell, the bonus action is NOT CASTING a spell just using something that is already in place.
Is that pretty much correct or am I overlooking something? Thanks
Sounds right. The reason you don't move it on the turn you cast it is because they assume you'll just place it wherever you want it within range.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Yes. Using an action (or bonus action) granted to you by a spell is not the same as casting a spell and thus it won't trigger the limitations on spellcasting that comes from casting spells with a bonus action.
Lots of spells are set up to let you do a bonus action each round as an attack on top of whatever other casting you do. It is a common situation.
Hmm...not gonna lie, I am usually decent at catching nuances in the wording of spells and rulings, but this one has me a bit off kilter now.
Does it actually require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon make an attack, or just a bonus action to move? I was under the impression it was a bonus action to move it, and then if possible it could make an attack, but not as part of or because of the bonus action.
EDIT: If it were stationary and near an enemy, does that require a bonus action to have the Spiritual Weapon Attack I guess would be more precise in what I am asking.
Loading...
Watch DnD Shorts on youtube.
Chief Innovationist, Acquisitions Inc. The Series 2
Successfully completed the Tomb of Horrors module (as part of playing Tomb of Annihilation) with no party deaths!
Yes. The spell requires the use of a bonus action to attack with the spiritual weapon.
"As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the weapon up to 20 feet and repeat the attack against a creature within 5 feet of it."
As a bonus action, you can move the weapon up to 20' and make an attack with it. "Up to 20'" includes not moving it at all. For the bonus action, you can (but don't have to) move the weapon and then make an attack with the weapon. The bonus action cost is not just for the movement - it is for the attack combined with a move of up to 20' - which includes not moving if that is what is desired.
Aside from the attack you can make when you cast the spell, absolutely nothing in the spell’s text allows you to make an attack as anything other than a bonus action, which can also include up to 20 feet of movement.
Thank you, because I honestly have no idea how that escaped my attention for so long, lol. That will shore up some of my insight into why it was so darn powerful.
Loading...
Watch DnD Shorts on youtube.
Chief Innovationist, Acquisitions Inc. The Series 2
Successfully completed the Tomb of Horrors module (as part of playing Tomb of Annihilation) with no party deaths!
Thanks for the feedback everyone