Playing a fighter and I took the Archery fighting style when I created him. I believe I do not have the Two-Weapon Fighting style.
If I am wielding 2 axes, can I throw both as a first action , then unclip 2 more axes on my chest and throw both of those as my 2nd attack action as well? (I'm a level 6 fighter)
Curious if I am doing this right or if this is not okay.
Because I am assuming you are using four handaxes, yes you can do this because these weapons do not specifically say "two handed" next to it and it says "light" next to it which means you only need one hand. it does not work like dual wielding on the fighter, but as long as it says "light" next to the weapon then anyone can use both weapons at once. if these aren't "light" weapons then you cannot do this. unless you get dual weapon fighting.
Because I am assuming you are using four handaxes, yes you can do this because these weapons do not specifically say "two handed" next to it and it says "light" next to it which means you only need one hand. it does not work like dual wielding on the fighter, but as long as it says "light" next to the weapon then anyone can use both weapons at once. if these aren't "light" weapons then you cannot do this. unless you get dual weapon fighting.
Ahh interesting. So throwing 4 axes is okay for two weapon attacks. I did not know about the "light" property.
Because I am assuming you are using four handaxes, yes you can do this because these weapons do not specifically say "two handed" next to it and it says "light" next to it which means you only need one hand. it does not work like dual wielding on the fighter, but as long as it says "light" next to the weapon then anyone can use both weapons at once. if these aren't "light" weapons then you cannot do this. unless you get dual weapon fighting.
Ahh interesting. So throwing 4 axes is okay for two weapon attacks. I did not know about the "light" property.
yes you can throw 4 axes as long as they are light. because you have an extra attack, you can throw four instead of just 2. because you have do not have dual weapon fighting you can only do this with light weapons. as long as they are light weapons and aren't two handed you can do it anytime.
No this is incorrect. You cannot throw four axes in a single turn at this level. As a 5th level fighter you have two attacks per attack action, which will only allow you to throw two axes. Again this also requires the axes are Handaxes with the Light and thrown properties.
With the two weapon fighting rules, you can then throw a third hand axe with your bonus action. You only get one bonus action, therefore the maximum you can throw is three axes. Also note, as you do not have the Two Weapon Fighting fighting style, you do not add you modifier to the damage roll of the bonus action attack.
No this is incorrect. You cannot throw four axes in a single turn at this level. As a 5th level fighter you have two attacks per attack action, which will only allow you to throw two axes. Again this also requires the axes are Handaxes with the Light and thrown properties.
With the two weapon fighting rules, you can then throw a third hand axe with your bonus action. You only get one bonus action, therefore the maximum you can throw is three axes. Also note, as you do not have the Two Weapon Fighting fighting style, you do not add you modifier to the damage roll of the bonus action attack.
reread this section in The player handbook. or search it up. you can throw two weapons as long as they both have the light property, in the same attack, and because a fighter has an extra attack at this point they have two attacks therefore four axes.
"Can you dual wield without the Dual Wielder feat? Yes, you can still wield a weapon in each hand if each weapon has the 'light' property without the dual wielder feat. For example this feat enables you to pick up a rapier or longsword in both hands for 1d8 damage instead of the 1d6 damage a shortsword provides."
I agree with ShinobilceSlayer. The only exception would be that you could use your action surge to take another attack action and throw two more axes that round. But once you do that, you can’t do it again until you take a short or long rest.
Also, note that a hand axe is not a ranged weapon, so your Archery style bonus doesn’t apply to attacks with it, even when you throw it. See the Sage Advice Compendium for the rule interpretation on that. https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA022
No this is incorrect. You cannot throw four axes in a single turn at this level. As a 5th level fighter you have two attacks per attack action, which will only allow you to throw two axes. Again this also requires the axes are Handaxes with the Light and thrown properties.
With the two weapon fighting rules, you can then throw a third hand axe with your bonus action. You only get one bonus action, therefore the maximum you can throw is three axes. Also note, as you do not have the Two Weapon Fighting fighting style, you do not add you modifier to the damage roll of the bonus action attack.
reread this section in The player handbook. or search it up. you can throw two weapons as long as they both have the light property, in the same attack, and because a fighter has an extra attack at this point they have two attacks therefore four axes.
"Can you dual wield without the Dual Wielder feat? Yes, you can still wield a weapon in each hand if each weapon has the 'light' property without the dual wielder feat. For example this feat enables you to pick up a rapier or longsword in both hands for 1d8 damage instead of the 1d6 damage a shortsword provides."
Sorry but you need to reread that section, as it does not support what you say at all. You can only ever throw a single weapon with each attack granted by the Attack and extra attack features.
Also that quote has nothing to do with the question asked, nor does it support what you're trying to claim the rules say. Yes, you can wield two weapons at anyone time, but there is nothing in the rules that lets you attack with both of them in the same attack. The only way you can attack with both weapons is to use the two weapon fighting feature, and that is only a single bonus action attack.
You can throw two as your action, that seems possible. Normally I’d say you could bonus action to throw a 3rd, but that’s kind of the point of the quick toss maneuver, so I’m not sure about that..
The problem you’re running into is item interaction. You can only draw one weapon for free per turn, so if you start with one in each hand, you could throw them both, then draw a third and throw it. Then you’re standing there unarmed with no way to draw another weapon. I guess quick toss helps with that, too, if you’re a battle master.
As others said, archery does not apply as these are not ranged weapons, they are melee weapons with the thrown property.
What you want is the thrown fighting style instead of archery. That gets you over the item interaction problem. And it boosts your damage.
The other problem you run into is running out of axes. If you’re throwing 3-4 a round, you have to carry a lot of them around. And unless your DM is really nice, you won’t find a pile of magic axes.
The other option is to find a friendly artificer and have them put a retaining infusion on one of them for you. That gets over a lot of the problems.
Lots of misinformed advice in this thread. OP, I suggest that you read the below actual rules citations, and ignore anyone claiming that there are new rules or other things that allow what you are asking about, without providing a basis for their opinions. Here are the most relevant rules:
Fighter Extra Attack class feature: https://www.dndbeyond.com/classes/fighter#ExtraAttack-196 "Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn." This is what allows you to make two attacks on your turn as a fighter of 6th level. Note that the 'Attack action' and an 'attack' are not synonymous, so this doesn't mean that this somehow gets doubled up if you have two weapons in hand. The rule for that situation is...
Two-Weapon Fighting: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#TwoWeaponFighting "When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative. If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it."
"Does the Archery fighting style work with a melee weapon that you throw?
No, the Archery feature benefits ranged weapons. A melee weapon, such as a dagger or handaxe, is still a melee weapon when you make a ranged attack with it."
I'd invite anyone who disagrees with the above to provide an actual rules citation, rather than offering an unsubstantiated opinion that leads the OP astray with respect to the official rules. Maybe you play differently in your home game, which is fine, but if someone is asking about how the rules work, it is probably best to be clear about what is official and what is homeruled. Thanks.
I agree with @Narzat in general. But I'll add one wrinkle that you might need to consider. If you want to use the Two-Weapon Fighting rule to make the Bonus action attack then it is somewhat problematic when using thrown weapon. Because of TWF requiring that you have the weapon in hand when you make the attack with the attack action.
You can still do it by throwing one axe with the first attack from the attack action and then throw the second axe as your TWF attack and then draw a third axe and throw it with your second attack from the attack action.
You can throw two as your action, that seems possible. Normally I’d say you could bonus action to throw a 3rd, but that’s kind of the point of the quick toss maneuver, so I’m not sure about that..
Quick Toss lets you throw something that doesn't have the Light property and/or make your initial attack with something besides a Light weapon. Or even spend your Action on something else and still make the Bonus Action Attack. I do believe it's RAW that you can throw a Light weapon as your Bonus Action attack without a specific feature. Though the item interaction does currently break down after the first round like that currently (they seem to be planning to make this easier in the update).
You can throw two as your action, that seems possible. Normally I’d say you could bonus action to throw a 3rd, but that’s kind of the point of the quick toss maneuver, so I’m not sure about that..
Quick Toss lets you throw something that doesn't have the Light property and/or make your initial attack with something besides a Light weapon. Or even spend your Action on something else and still make the Bonus Action Attack. I do believe it's RAW that you can throw a Light weapon as your Bonus Action attack without a specific feature. Though the item interaction does currently break down after the first round like that currently (they seem to be planning to make this easier in the update).
Ahhh, thank you. I knew I was missing something with quick toss.
You are correct, I meant to link to thrown weapon fighting, not two weapon fighting. It is one of the optional ones farther down in the fighter writeup.
“Thrown Weapon Fighting You can draw a weapon that has the thrown property as part of the attack you make with the weapon.
In addition, when you hit with a ranged attack using a thrown weapon, you gain a +2 bonus to the damage roll.‘
RAW, you get two attacks when you take the attack action as a 6th level fighter. RAW, you get one attack as a bonus action when you qualify for two-weapon fighting. None of the trusted regulars here would disagree with that.
Can you throw 3 axes in the same turn? Depends on how many you have to actually draw that round. From the Sage Advice Compendium:
When you use two-weapon fighting, can you draw and throw two weapons on your turn?
You can throw two weapons with two-weapon fighting, but that rule doesn’t give you the ability to draw two weapons for free.
On your turn, you can interact with one object for free, either during your move or during an action. One of the most common object interactions is drawing or stowing a weapon. Interacting with a second object on the same turn requires an action. You need a feature like the Dual Wielder feat to draw or stow a second weapon for free.
If two of the axes are already in your hands at the beginning of your turn, you can throw both then draw and throw a third.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To give the benefit of the doubt to Spencer they may have been thinking of the UA Nick weapon mastery making the usual BA attack as part of the attack action. Although hand axes do not have Nick.
Playing a fighter and I took the Archery fighting style when I created him. I believe I do not have the Two-Weapon Fighting style.
If I am wielding 2 axes, can I throw both as a first action , then unclip 2 more axes on my chest and throw both of those as my 2nd attack action as well? (I'm a level 6 fighter)
Curious if I am doing this right or if this is not okay.
Because I am assuming you are using four handaxes, yes you can do this because these weapons do not specifically say "two handed" next to it and it says "light" next to it which means you only need one hand. it does not work like dual wielding on the fighter, but as long as it says "light" next to the weapon then anyone can use both weapons at once. if these aren't "light" weapons then you cannot do this. unless you get dual weapon fighting.
Ahh interesting. So throwing 4 axes is okay for two weapon attacks. I did not know about the "light" property.
yes you can throw 4 axes as long as they are light. because you have an extra attack, you can throw four instead of just 2. because you have do not have dual weapon fighting you can only do this with light weapons. as long as they are light weapons and aren't two handed you can do it anytime.
No this is incorrect. You cannot throw four axes in a single turn at this level. As a 5th level fighter you have two attacks per attack action, which will only allow you to throw two axes. Again this also requires the axes are Handaxes with the Light and thrown properties.
With the two weapon fighting rules, you can then throw a third hand axe with your bonus action. You only get one bonus action, therefore the maximum you can throw is three axes. Also note, as you do not have the Two Weapon Fighting fighting style, you do not add you modifier to the damage roll of the bonus action attack.
reread this section in The player handbook. or search it up. you can throw two weapons as long as they both have the light property, in the same attack, and because a fighter has an extra attack at this point they have two attacks therefore four axes.
"Can you dual wield without the Dual Wielder feat? Yes, you can still wield a weapon in each hand if each weapon has the 'light' property without the dual wielder feat. For example this feat enables you to pick up a rapier or longsword in both hands for 1d8 damage instead of the 1d6 damage a shortsword provides."
I agree with ShinobilceSlayer. The only exception would be that you could use your action surge to take another attack action and throw two more axes that round. But once you do that, you can’t do it again until you take a short or long rest.
Also, note that a hand axe is not a ranged weapon, so your Archery style bonus doesn’t apply to attacks with it, even when you throw it. See the Sage Advice Compendium for the rule interpretation on that. https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA022
Sorry but you need to reread that section, as it does not support what you say at all. You can only ever throw a single weapon with each attack granted by the Attack and extra attack features.
Also that quote has nothing to do with the question asked, nor does it support what you're trying to claim the rules say. Yes, you can wield two weapons at anyone time, but there is nothing in the rules that lets you attack with both of them in the same attack. The only way you can attack with both weapons is to use the two weapon fighting feature, and that is only a single bonus action attack.
You can throw two as your action, that seems possible. Normally I’d say you could bonus action to throw a 3rd, but that’s kind of the point of the quick toss maneuver, so I’m not sure about that..
The problem you’re running into is item interaction. You can only draw one weapon for free per turn, so if you start with one in each hand, you could throw them both, then draw a third and throw it. Then you’re standing there unarmed with no way to draw another weapon. I guess quick toss helps with that, too, if you’re a battle master.
As others said, archery does not apply as these are not ranged weapons, they are melee weapons with the thrown property.
What you want is the thrown fighting style instead of archery. That gets you over the item interaction problem. And it boosts your damage.
The other problem you run into is running out of axes. If you’re throwing 3-4 a round, you have to carry a lot of them around. And unless your DM is really nice, you won’t find a pile of magic axes.
The other option is to find a friendly artificer and have them put a retaining infusion on one of them for you. That gets over a lot of the problems.
Lots of misinformed advice in this thread. OP, I suggest that you read the below actual rules citations, and ignore anyone claiming that there are new rules or other things that allow what you are asking about, without providing a basis for their opinions. Here are the most relevant rules:
Fighter Extra Attack class feature: https://www.dndbeyond.com/classes/fighter#ExtraAttack-196 "Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn." This is what allows you to make two attacks on your turn as a fighter of 6th level. Note that the 'Attack action' and an 'attack' are not synonymous, so this doesn't mean that this somehow gets doubled up if you have two weapons in hand. The rule for that situation is...
Two-Weapon Fighting: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#TwoWeaponFighting "When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative. If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it."
Sage Advice clarification re thrown weapons and the Archery fighting style: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA022
"Does the Archery fighting style work with a melee weapon that you throw?
No, the Archery feature benefits ranged weapons. A melee weapon, such as a dagger or handaxe, is still a melee weapon when you make a ranged attack with it."
So this means if you want to be throwing handaxes effectively, you should switch fighting styles from Archery to Two-Weapon Fighting https://www.dndbeyond.com/classes/fighter#FightingStyle-191
I'd invite anyone who disagrees with the above to provide an actual rules citation, rather than offering an unsubstantiated opinion that leads the OP astray with respect to the official rules. Maybe you play differently in your home game, which is fine, but if someone is asking about how the rules work, it is probably best to be clear about what is official and what is homeruled. Thanks.
I agree with @Narzat in general. But I'll add one wrinkle that you might need to consider. If you want to use the Two-Weapon Fighting rule to make the Bonus action attack then it is somewhat problematic when using thrown weapon. Because of TWF requiring that you have the weapon in hand when you make the attack with the attack action.
You can still do it by throwing one axe with the first attack from the attack action and then throw the second axe as your TWF attack and then draw a third axe and throw it with your second attack from the attack action.
Quick Toss lets you throw something that doesn't have the Light property and/or make your initial attack with something besides a Light weapon. Or even spend your Action on something else and still make the Bonus Action Attack. I do believe it's RAW that you can throw a Light weapon as your Bonus Action attack without a specific feature. Though the item interaction does currently break down after the first round like that currently (they seem to be planning to make this easier in the update).
Ahhh, thank you. I knew I was missing something with quick toss.
You are correct, I meant to link to thrown weapon fighting, not two weapon fighting. It is one of the optional ones farther down in the fighter writeup.
“Thrown Weapon Fighting
You can draw a weapon that has the thrown property as part of the attack you make with the weapon.
In addition, when you hit with a ranged attack using a thrown weapon, you gain a +2 bonus to the damage roll.‘
OP:
RAW, you get two attacks when you take the attack action as a 6th level fighter. RAW, you get one attack as a bonus action when you qualify for two-weapon fighting. None of the trusted regulars here would disagree with that.
Can you throw 3 axes in the same turn? Depends on how many you have to actually draw that round. From the Sage Advice Compendium:
If two of the axes are already in your hands at the beginning of your turn, you can throw both then draw and throw a third.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To give the benefit of the doubt to Spencer they may have been thinking of the UA Nick weapon mastery making the usual BA attack as part of the attack action. Although hand axes do not have Nick.
They were wrong on everything else, though.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?