What is your opinion on using a staff and a wand at the same time, e.g. staff of power and wand of the warmage. Can you use both items to get both boni to spell attack? I know you would need to hold both items and therefore need the warcaster feat to cast most spells, but do the boni stack?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
+ Instaboot to murderhobos + I don't watch Critical Role, and no, I really shouldn't either +
Assuming you want to cast a spell you either need the feet Warcaster, Subtle Spell or a free hand.
So, do you have a third hand?
Since the only requirement is to hold them and they're not involved in the casting, one might argue that you could hold them both in one hand while you cast a spell without M components, just like you can hold a 2-hand weapon in one hand while you cast a spell.
One of the characters in question is a half-elf aberrant mind sorcerer, the other a vedalken genie warlock, so with a few exceptions for the sorcerer they definitely need the warcaster feat. I'm DM in one campaign and play a satyr armorer artificer in the other. We just want to know, how the items are intended.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
+ Instaboot to murderhobos + I don't watch Critical Role, and no, I really shouldn't either +
RAW holding both items would grant the benefits the PC receives by holding them. As you correctly identified, you would need to take the warcaster feat to cast spells with S components.
The only questionable interaction is if you don't have the warcaster feat. You may want your DM to ask about whether it is possible to hold two weapons in one hand, and whether that would still grant the benefits of either item by doing so. There are no RAW that cover the holding of items.
If you were at my table, I would rule that you would only be able to hold one item in each hand, and would not be able to hold both items in the same hand. But I am not your DM.
There are items that add to spell DC (such as the moon sickle and arcane grimoire, but I think only one is available to each spellcasting class.
Except for Amulet of the Devout. RAW, this one applies to all spells, not just the cleric and paladin ones. WOTC has been aware of the discrepancy since shortly after it was published and haven't issued any errata leaving it up to the DM to houserule it if they want.
"This amulet bears the symbol of a deity inlaid with precious stones or metals. While you wear the holy symbol, you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls and the saving throw DCs of your spells. The bonus is determined by the amulet’s rarity."
So this one could be added to the list as well and you don't need to hold it in your hand. Might be a better choice than wand of the war mage for an arcane caster with one level of cleric or paladin.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
What is your opinion on using a staff and a wand at the same time, e.g. staff of power and wand of the warmage. Can you use both items to get both boni to spell attack? I know you would need to hold both items and therefore need the warcaster feat to cast most spells, but do the boni stack?
+ Instaboot to murderhobos + I don't watch Critical Role, and no, I really shouldn't either +
Assuming you want to cast a spell you either need the feet Warcaster, Subtle Spell or a free hand.
So, do you have a third hand?
There are items that add to spell DC (such as the moon sickle and arcane grimoire, but I think only one is available to each spellcasting class.
Since the only requirement is to hold them and they're not involved in the casting, one might argue that you could hold them both in one hand while you cast a spell without M components, just like you can hold a 2-hand weapon in one hand while you cast a spell.
One of the characters in question is a half-elf aberrant mind sorcerer, the other a vedalken genie warlock, so with a few exceptions for the sorcerer they definitely need the warcaster feat. I'm DM in one campaign and play a satyr armorer artificer in the other. We just want to know, how the items are intended.
+ Instaboot to murderhobos + I don't watch Critical Role, and no, I really shouldn't either +
RAW holding both items would grant the benefits the PC receives by holding them. As you correctly identified, you would need to take the warcaster feat to cast spells with S components.
The only questionable interaction is if you don't have the warcaster feat. You may want your DM to ask about whether it is possible to hold two weapons in one hand, and whether that would still grant the benefits of either item by doing so. There are no RAW that cover the holding of items.
If you were at my table, I would rule that you would only be able to hold one item in each hand, and would not be able to hold both items in the same hand. But I am not your DM.
Except for Amulet of the Devout. RAW, this one applies to all spells, not just the cleric and paladin ones. WOTC has been aware of the discrepancy since shortly after it was published and haven't issued any errata leaving it up to the DM to houserule it if they want.
"This amulet bears the symbol of a deity inlaid with precious stones or metals. While you wear the holy symbol, you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls and the saving throw DCs of your spells. The bonus is determined by the amulet’s rarity."
So this one could be added to the list as well and you don't need to hold it in your hand. Might be a better choice than wand of the war mage for an arcane caster with one level of cleric or paladin.