according to DDAL FAQ v8.1, p.9 a familiar can attune to magic items so long as they meet the requirements for attunement. For this reason a familiar should be able to attune to a ring of spellstoring (accord to Dungeons Master's Guilde p.140 the item should adjust itselve).
If you store Polymorph into a ring of spell storing and let your familiar attune to it, can your familiar cast Polymorph on you and retain the concentration of this spell for you?
Sure, but you can also just cast polymorph on yourself.
He does not want to concentrate on the spell. He is having his familiar do it.
This does work, but...
Familiars die EASILY
Effectively you get a second concentration spell this way, but the familiar needs a safe place to hide and no reasonable DM would let you dismiss him and keep the spell active.
This works better for a warlock with an invisible familiar, but the best technique for this is to use the spell ROPE TRICK, which does not involve concentration. This requires some setup, making it only worthwhile for longer battles.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello,
according to DDAL FAQ v8.1, p.9 a familiar can attune to magic items so long as they meet the requirements for attunement. For this reason a familiar should be able to attune to a ring of spellstoring (accord to Dungeons Master's Guilde p.140 the item should adjust itselve).
If you store Polymorph into a ring of spell storing and let your familiar attune to it, can your familiar cast Polymorph on you and retain the concentration of this spell for you?
Sure, but you can also just cast polymorph on yourself.
He does not want to concentrate on the spell. He is having his familiar do it.
This does work, but...
Familiars die EASILY
Effectively you get a second concentration spell this way, but the familiar needs a safe place to hide and no reasonable DM would let you dismiss him and keep the spell active.
This works better for a warlock with an invisible familiar, but the best technique for this is to use the spell ROPE TRICK, which does not involve concentration. This requires some setup, making it only worthwhile for longer battles.