If f.e a barbarion that doesnt have any spell slots gets a race like variant human and takes the mark of finding can the barbarion use any of the spells that mark gives? Or maybe theres a rule for it? If no does anyone have any suggestions on what to do in that situation?
It looks like the trait spells can just be cast without spell slots. You get to do it a certain number of times, replenished by a long rest.
Other spells that say they require the creature to have the Spellcasting or Pact Magic class features mean exactly that. If you don't have one of those class features then you cannot cast those spells.
If f.e a barbarion that doesnt have any spell slots gets a race like variant human and takes the mark of finding can the barbarion use any of the spells that mark gives? Or maybe theres a rule for it? If no does anyone have any suggestions on what to do in that situation?
You can cast hunters mark and locate object 1/day. Each spell 1/day. You use wisdom as your casting ability. That’s it. The other spells get added to your class spell list, but since you have no list, there’s nothing to add them to.
Important to note, you can not cast or concentrate on spells while you are raging. So you won’t be getting the bonus damage from hunters mark while raging. You could still use it out of combat to help you track enemies, though.
If a feature grants your character the ability to cast spells it will describe how the spells may be cast.
In the case of a human with a Mark of Finding the Finders Magic bullet point tells us that the world may be cast once per long rest and that Wisdom is your spellcasting modifier when casting these spells this way.
In a separate bullet point labeled Spells of the Mark it says if you have a spellcasting or pact magic feature then the spells listed in the Mark of Finding spell list are also added to your class spell list. This is usually sufficient to enable you to cast these spells using your spell slots granted by your spellcasting feature.
As a Barbarian you could cast the spells mentioned in Finders Magic once per long rest using Wisdom as your spellcasting modifier and the Spells of the Mark bullet point doesn't apply to you. Also note that while raging you cannot cast or concentrate on spells.
If f.e a barbarion that doesnt have any spell slots gets a race like variant human and takes the mark of finding can the barbarion use any of the spells that mark gives? Or maybe theres a rule for it? If no does anyone have any suggestions on what to do in that situation?
If you gain the ability to cast spells from something like a racial feature, a feat etc. then the text will tell you how often you can cast the spell and how to determine what ability score is used for things like your Spell Attack Bonus and your Spell Save DC. For example, Drow Elves gain the ability to cast three spells when their characters reach certain levels. The Drow Elf description text explicitly says the two leveled spells can be cast once per Long Rest, and that Charisma is the spellcasting ability you use. Spell slots aren't required because it's not a Spellcasting or Pact Magic class feature that's giving you access to the spell, it's a racial trait. Look at the Way Of Shadow Monk as another example. They gain the ability to cast certain spells by spending Ki points, not spell slots. Also keep in mind that when casting a spell without expending a spell slot, you cast the spell at its default level unless stated otherwise. For example, the spell Hellish Rebuke is a 1st-level spell, but the Tiefling text explicitly says when they use their racial trait to cast Hellish Rebuke, it's cast at 2nd level(moar damage!).
Simply being a class that doesn't normally cast spells will not prevent you from being able to use racial/feat/etc abilities like this. But keep in mind that unless stated otherwise, all the usual spellcasting rules apply. Verbal/Somatic/Material components are still required when the spell calls for them, etc. And for Barbarians specifically, they still can't cast or Concentrate on spells while Raging, even spells obtained by things like racial traits.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If f.e a barbarion that doesnt have any spell slots gets a race like variant human and takes the mark of finding can the barbarion use any of the spells that mark gives? Or maybe theres a rule for it? If no does anyone have any suggestions on what to do in that situation?
It looks like the trait spells can just be cast without spell slots. You get to do it a certain number of times, replenished by a long rest.
Other spells that say they require the creature to have the Spellcasting or Pact Magic class features mean exactly that. If you don't have one of those class features then you cannot cast those spells.
You can cast hunters mark and locate object 1/day. Each spell 1/day. You use wisdom as your casting ability. That’s it. The other spells get added to your class spell list, but since you have no list, there’s nothing to add them to.
Important to note, you can not cast or concentrate on spells while you are raging. So you won’t be getting the bonus damage from hunters mark while raging. You could still use it out of combat to help you track enemies, though.
If a feature grants your character the ability to cast spells it will describe how the spells may be cast.
In the case of a human with a Mark of Finding the Finders Magic bullet point tells us that the world may be cast once per long rest and that Wisdom is your spellcasting modifier when casting these spells this way.
In a separate bullet point labeled Spells of the Mark it says if you have a spellcasting or pact magic feature then the spells listed in the Mark of Finding spell list are also added to your class spell list. This is usually sufficient to enable you to cast these spells using your spell slots granted by your spellcasting feature.
As a Barbarian you could cast the spells mentioned in Finders Magic once per long rest using Wisdom as your spellcasting modifier and the Spells of the Mark bullet point doesn't apply to you. Also note that while raging you cannot cast or concentrate on spells.
If you gain the ability to cast spells from something like a racial feature, a feat etc. then the text will tell you how often you can cast the spell and how to determine what ability score is used for things like your Spell Attack Bonus and your Spell Save DC. For example, Drow Elves gain the ability to cast three spells when their characters reach certain levels. The Drow Elf description text explicitly says the two leveled spells can be cast once per Long Rest, and that Charisma is the spellcasting ability you use. Spell slots aren't required because it's not a Spellcasting or Pact Magic class feature that's giving you access to the spell, it's a racial trait. Look at the Way Of Shadow Monk as another example. They gain the ability to cast certain spells by spending Ki points, not spell slots. Also keep in mind that when casting a spell without expending a spell slot, you cast the spell at its default level unless stated otherwise. For example, the spell Hellish Rebuke is a 1st-level spell, but the Tiefling text explicitly says when they use their racial trait to cast Hellish Rebuke, it's cast at 2nd level(moar damage!).
Simply being a class that doesn't normally cast spells will not prevent you from being able to use racial/feat/etc abilities like this. But keep in mind that unless stated otherwise, all the usual spellcasting rules apply. Verbal/Somatic/Material components are still required when the spell calls for them, etc. And for Barbarians specifically, they still can't cast or Concentrate on spells while Raging, even spells obtained by things like racial traits.