Listen so i know if u have an Extra attack and take the attack action u can take another Attack but what if u have 2 extra attacks like my character is an lvl 5 figher and lvl 5 barberian and it says i got an extra attack on both of the classes and how does that work?
Class features with the same name from different sources generally don't stack. So if you have Extra Attack from the Fighter class and Extra Attack from the Barbarian class, you only get one version of the feature (they're identical at level 5, but the Fighter's improves at higher levels).
Similarly if you have Unarmored Defense from the Barbarian class and the Monk class, you have to pick whether to add Constitution or Wisdom to your unarmored AC; you can't add both.
The only exception to this that I know of is Spellcasting; if you have Spellcasting from more than one class, you follow the Multiclass Spellcasting rules in the Player's Handbook, rather than choosing one version or the other.
While the feature is called "extra attack" the description says "You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.". It is the ability to attack twice not the abilty to attack one more time. So while what Mdhe says is true it isn't actually needed here, you have two features that allow you to attack twice when you take the attack action (you can use either) and none that allow you to attack three times (that would require fighter 11)
Here's what the Multiclassing Rules says on the subject;
Extra Attack: If you gain the Extra Attack class feature from more than one class, the features don’t add together. You can’t make more than two attacks with this feature unless it says you do (as the fighter’s version of Extra Attack does). Similarly, the warlock’s eldritch invocation Thirsting Blade doesn’t give you additional attacks if you also have Extra Attack.
Similarly if you have Unarmored Defense from the Barbarian class and the Monk class, you have to pick whether to add Constitution or Wisdom to your unarmored AC; you can't add both.
Actually that's not true (because for some strange reason they treat Unarmored Defense differently from Extra Attack).
This is what the rule says:
If you already have the Unarmored Defense feature, you can’t gain it again from another class.
So if you start as a Barbarian and then multiclass into Monk you can never use the [10+Dex+Wis] calculation that Monks usually have, you can only use the [10+Dex+Con(+sheild)] calculation that Barbarians have.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Listen so i know if u have an Extra attack and take the attack action u can take another Attack but what if u have 2 extra attacks like my character is an lvl 5 figher and lvl 5 barberian and it says i got an extra attack on both of the classes and how does that work?
Class features with the same name from different sources generally don't stack. So if you have Extra Attack from the Fighter class and Extra Attack from the Barbarian class, you only get one version of the feature (they're identical at level 5, but the Fighter's improves at higher levels).
Similarly if you have Unarmored Defense from the Barbarian class and the Monk class, you have to pick whether to add Constitution or Wisdom to your unarmored AC; you can't add both.
The only exception to this that I know of is Spellcasting; if you have Spellcasting from more than one class, you follow the Multiclass Spellcasting rules in the Player's Handbook, rather than choosing one version or the other.
While the feature is called "extra attack" the description says "You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.". It is the ability to attack twice not the abilty to attack one more time. So while what Mdhe says is true it isn't actually needed here, you have two features that allow you to attack twice when you take the attack action (you can use either) and none that allow you to attack three times (that would require fighter 11)
And just so you know that this is in fact codified somewhere, there is a whole section in the multiclassing chapter about extra attack.
Here's what the Multiclassing Rules says on the subject;
Actually that's not true (because for some strange reason they treat Unarmored Defense differently from Extra Attack).
This is what the rule says:
So if you start as a Barbarian and then multiclass into Monk you can never use the [10+Dex+Wis] calculation that Monks usually have, you can only use the [10+Dex+Con(+sheild)] calculation that Barbarians have.