This topic has held a lot of dispute at my table. The spell true polymorph can turn creatures into objects or creatures (and vice versa) permanently after the caster finishes concentrating on the spell for an hour. After that hour, what happens to the target if it is reduced to zero hit points in that new form. Does it revert back to its previous form or stay in the current form even if it dies?
After the errata (*), it's clear to me that the creature will revert to its true form when it reaches 0 HP because the spell has no effect on a creature with 0 HP. This holds true in both cases: whether the spell has been concentrated on for the full duration or not.
True Polymorph [...] Choose one creature or nonmagical object that you can see within range. You transform the creature into a different creature, the creature into a nonmagical object, or the object into a creature (the object must be neither worn nor carried by another creature). The spell lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the spell lasts until it is dispelled.
This spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points. [...]
(*) the text before the errata was: "[...] The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the transformation becomes permanent. Shapechangers aren’t affected by this spell. [...]"
But once the spell becomes permanent only dispelling reverts them so would reducing an object (former creature) to zero do anything? It’s still not being dispelled?
But once the spell becomes permanent only dispelling reverts them so would reducing an object (former creature) to zero do anything? It’s still not being dispelled?
Reading the spell entry, I understand that once the spell becomes permanent, the tranformation should end either by using Dispel Magic or by reducing the new creature or object to 0 HP due to the sentence I previously highlighted in bold.
I also found a tweet from the Dev. While it's not an official ruling, I share the same opinion in this case.
"Once a True Polymorph spell is made permanent does reducing to 0hp still cause the creature to revert to its original form?" (link to sageadvice.eu)
@DMJazzyHands went back and re-listened to the polymorph Sage Advice and I have a follow up question: once a true polymorph spell is made permanent from concentrating for the full duration, does reducing that creature to 0hp still cause them to revert to their original form? @quadhund PH 283 "The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies." The duration becomes permanent when you concentrate for an hour. Reducing the creature to 0 hit points would cause it to revert. @DMJazzyHands Is one way to read it. Another, and one that I found a tweet from @mikemearls backing, is that once it’s permanent, it’s PERMANENT and magical intervention is required even if the creature is reduced to 0hp. @JeremyECrawford The text of the spell says it has no effect on a creature with 0 hit points. That statement is made after the bit about lasting until dispelled. At 0 hit points? The transformation ends.
Regarding creatures with zero HP not being affected, what does that matter for an object reduced to zero HP? That's not a creature. That's an object. [...]
In my opinion, as I understand the spell, the original creature is the target. As an object, the original creature is under the effect of this spell and follow the same rule:
True Polymorph [...] This spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points.
So, if the object's HP become zero (i.e. smashing a cup into pieces), then the target creature's HP become zero too, and this will end the spell, and the creature is restored.
There is no "original target creature" separate from the object they've been turned into. What was once a creature is now an object. For the object to be a creature again, the effect has to end. I'm not saying the target object doesn't transform back when reduced to zero HP, just that the inability to affect a creature with zero HP wouldn't cause that.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This topic has held a lot of dispute at my table. The spell true polymorph can turn creatures into objects or creatures (and vice versa) permanently after the caster finishes concentrating on the spell for an hour. After that hour, what happens to the target if it is reduced to zero hit points in that new form. Does it revert back to its previous form or stay in the current form even if it dies?
After the errata (*), it's clear to me that the creature will revert to its true form when it reaches 0 HP because the spell has no effect on a creature with 0 HP. This holds true in both cases: whether the spell has been concentrated on for the full duration or not.
(*) the text before the errata was: "[...] The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the transformation becomes permanent. Shapechangers aren’t affected by this spell. [...]"
What about transforming a creature into an object? Is there a specification for an object at 0 hit points?
To my understanding, it’s the same: if you damage the object and its HP drops to zero, the spell ends, and the creature reverts to its true form.
Regarding objects and their statistics, we have some rules in the DMG, p. 246.
But once the spell becomes permanent only dispelling reverts them so would reducing an object (former creature) to zero do anything? It’s still not being dispelled?
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Reading the spell entry, I understand that once the spell becomes permanent, the tranformation should end either by using Dispel Magic or by reducing the new creature or object to 0 HP due to the sentence I previously highlighted in bold.
I also found a tweet from the Dev. While it's not an official ruling, I share the same opinion in this case.
"Once a True Polymorph spell is made permanent does reducing to 0hp still cause the creature to revert to its original form?" (link to sageadvice.eu)
Regarding creatures with zero HP not being affected, what does that matter for an object reduced to zero HP? That's not a creature. That's an object.
Also, is it possible that the statement causing the spell to last until dispelled is merely overriding the duration of "concentration, 1 hour?"
In my opinion, as I understand the spell, the original creature is the target. As an object, the original creature is under the effect of this spell and follow the same rule:
So, if the object's HP become zero (i.e. smashing a cup into pieces), then the target creature's HP become zero too, and this will end the spell, and the creature is restored.
The same if you use Dispel Magic.
There is no "original target creature" separate from the object they've been turned into. What was once a creature is now an object. For the object to be a creature again, the effect has to end. I'm not saying the target object doesn't transform back when reduced to zero HP, just that the inability to affect a creature with zero HP wouldn't cause that.