If a character is under the effects of the Blink spell, rolls an 11 or higher at the end of turn, and reappears within 30 feet of a Jabberwock, will he/she be affected by the Jabberwock's Confusing Burble or does he/she technically start their turn on the Ethereal Plane?
I had to go reread the text of the spell before deciding.
"At the start of your next turn, and when the spell ends if you are on the Ethereal Plane, you return to an unoccupied space of your choice that you can see within 10 feet of the space you vanished from."
To me, that sounds like you start your turn on the ethereal plane, and then you return to your original plane. So at my table, I would rule that anything that would affect you "at the start of your turn" would not affect you during that spell's duration unless that effect extends into the ethereal plane.
If a character is under the effects of the Blink spell, rolls an 11 or higher at the end of turn, and reappears within 30 feet of a Jabberwock, will he/she be affected by the Jabberwock's Confusing Burble or does he/she technically start their turn on the Ethereal Plane?
While Blink is active, On a roll of 11 or higher, you vanish from your current plane of existence and appear in the Ethereal Plane.While on the Ethereal Plane, you can only affect and be affected by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane. Since the Jabberwock is on the Material Place, it's Burble can't affect you.
On the other hand, if the Jabberwock already used it's Burble action while you're on the Material Place on a prior turn and you suffer from Confusion then at the start of your turn on the Ethereal Plane, you return to an unoccupied space of your choice that you can see within 10 feet of the space you vanished from and must roll a d10 to determine your behavior for that turn.
Ok sorry guys i just realised i was not looking at the same version, i'm looking at a homebrew monster and you a Jabberwock published in the The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
But that still doesn't change my answer, at the start of your turn, you're not within 30 feet of the jabberwock but on a different Plane of Existance.
Confusing Burble. The jabberwock burbles to itself unless it is incapacitated. Any creature that starts its turn within 30 feet of the jabberwock and is able to hear its burbling must make a DC 18 Charisma saving throw. On a failed saving throw, the creature can’t take reactions until the start of its next turn, and it rolls a d4 to determine what it does during its current turn:
1–2. The creature does nothing.you're not within 30 feet of the jabberwock, 3. The creature does nothing except use all its movement to move in a random direction. 4. The creature either makes one melee attack against a random creature it can see or does nothing if no visible creature is within its reach.
If a character is under the effects of the Blink spell, rolls an 11 or higher at the end of turn, and reappears within 30 feet of a Jabberwock, will he/she be affected by the Jabberwock's Confusing Burble or does he/she technically start their turn on the Ethereal Plane?
I think when your turn starts you're on the Ethereal Plane, but it's one of those things a DM could call either way.
I had to go reread the text of the spell before deciding.
"At the start of your next turn, and when the spell ends if you are on the Ethereal Plane, you return to an unoccupied space of your choice that you can see within 10 feet of the space you vanished from."
To me, that sounds like you start your turn on the ethereal plane, and then you return to your original plane. So at my table, I would rule that anything that would affect you "at the start of your turn" would not affect you during that spell's duration unless that effect extends into the ethereal plane.
Just my 2 c.p.
Anzio Faro. Protector Aasimar light cleric. Lvl 18.
Viktor Gavriil. White dragonborn grave cleric. Lvl 20.
Ikram Sahir ibn-Malik al-Sayyid Ra'ad. Brass dragonborn draconic sorcerer Lvl 9. Fire elemental devil.
Wrangler of cats.
While Blink is active, On a roll of 11 or higher, you vanish from your current plane of existence and appear in the Ethereal Plane.While on the Ethereal Plane, you can only affect and be affected by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane. Since the Jabberwock is on the Material Place, it's Burble can't affect you.
On the other hand, if the Jabberwock already used it's Burble action while you're on the Material Place on a prior turn and you suffer from Confusion then at the start of your turn on the Ethereal Plane, you return to an unoccupied space of your choice that you can see within 10 feet of the space you vanished from and must roll a d10 to determine your behavior for that turn.
Burble isn’t an Action, it’s a passive aura.
The version i'm looking at is
Ok sorry guys i just realised i was not looking at the same version, i'm looking at a homebrew monster and you a Jabberwock published in the The Wild Beyond the Witchlight
But that still doesn't change my answer, at the start of your turn, you're not within 30 feet of the jabberwock but on a different Plane of Existance.
Thank you all for your assistance on this matter.