Cam magical weapons such as longsword of dragon slaying be used to cast spells like summon draconic spirit ? can magical weapons be used as spell components at all?
Yes, if 1) it has the image of a dragon engraved on it and 2) your GM says it has a value greater than 500gp. I assume you're most interested in the latter criterion, and that's entirely up to the GM. Magic items have no official prices or values.
For your first example a DM might allow it, but generally a component like that is something you’re expected to purchase or otherwise acquire specifically for such a spell. For the second part, it depends on the spell- for something like Booming Blade or Steel Wind Strike where the M requirement is essentially “have a weapon to make this spell’s attack with” magic weapons fit, but in cases where a weapon isn’t specifically involved because you’re essentially attacking with it in some way, trying to gimmick your way past another priced M component by claiming it was incorporated into something you already have is seriously straining RAI. It’s not objectively prohibited, but again it’s something you need to ask your DM about.
Ok great thank you! Follow up question. do all dragonslaying weapons have dragon imagery on them? i assumed they did as the image for the item has one
Again, that’s a DM question; the art in the books for anything besides race appearances or canon NPCs like Strahd is entirely fluff, and even then the art isn’t absolutely binding. Trying to exploit it like this might fly with some DMs, but I would expect more to nix the attempt.
Thanks for the info! I am the DM of this campagin so i just wanted to get others opinions before i make a desicion
So, if you're the DM, you just have to consider the implications of what this could mean for your players.
If you allow such a sword to be used as the component for that spell, that's allowing that sword to essentially grant a part of the function of the War Caster feat to its user. If you feel fine with allowing such a ruling at your table, more power to you. Heck, I might even allow it at mine, given that at 9th level and higher 500 gp isn't considered to be that much in some settings. So if they already went for a magic item that could overlap, I might allow it for that spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi,
Cam magical weapons such as longsword of dragon slaying be used to cast spells like summon draconic spirit ? can magical weapons be used as spell components at all?
Yes, if 1) it has the image of a dragon engraved on it and 2) your GM says it has a value greater than 500gp. I assume you're most interested in the latter criterion, and that's entirely up to the GM. Magic items have no official prices or values.
For your first example a DM might allow it, but generally a component like that is something you’re expected to purchase or otherwise acquire specifically for such a spell. For the second part, it depends on the spell- for something like Booming Blade or Steel Wind Strike where the M requirement is essentially “have a weapon to make this spell’s attack with” magic weapons fit, but in cases where a weapon isn’t specifically involved because you’re essentially attacking with it in some way, trying to gimmick your way past another priced M component by claiming it was incorporated into something you already have is seriously straining RAI. It’s not objectively prohibited, but again it’s something you need to ask your DM about.
Ok great thank you! Follow up question. do all dragonslaying weapons have dragon imagery on them? i assumed they did as the image for the item has one
Thanks for the info! I am the DM of this campagin so i just wanted to get others opinions before i make a desicion
Again, that’s a DM question; the art in the books for anything besides race appearances or canon NPCs like Strahd is entirely fluff, and even then the art isn’t absolutely binding. Trying to exploit it like this might fly with some DMs, but I would expect more to nix the attempt.
So, if you're the DM, you just have to consider the implications of what this could mean for your players.
If you allow such a sword to be used as the component for that spell, that's allowing that sword to essentially grant a part of the function of the War Caster feat to its user. If you feel fine with allowing such a ruling at your table, more power to you. Heck, I might even allow it at mine, given that at 9th level and higher 500 gp isn't considered to be that much in some settings. So if they already went for a magic item that could overlap, I might allow it for that spell.