so i was looking at the definition of an object that got me wondering is a construct a object or a creature.
"Construct" is a creature type, so constructs are by definition creatures, and living.
A corpse is a creature, just not a living creature. The resurrection type spells all require that you target a creature that is dead. Creatures don't stop being creatures because someone had the gall to unalive them.
A corpse is a creature, just not a living creature. The resurrection type spells all require that you target a creature that is dead. Creatures don't stop being creatures because someone had the gall to unalive them.
(a) I think we have to be clear to separate out game terms from general English terminology.
(b) As a general concept you can have, in the game, things that are creatures but not living. Undead being the obvious example as non-living by definition (though even here I admit I'm technically counteracting my first point about game terms and general English with the definition of "undead"!)
However, in game terms, a Construct is most definitely a creature and not an object (for reasons other people have stated). This is generally all you need to know to determine how a Construct is treated with certain in-game effects. E.g. If a spell targets only creatures but not objects then, yes, it can target a Construct.
Interestingly, the 2014 version of the old Cure Wound and similar spells stated they did not affect Constructs or Undead; the 2024 versions no longer have this restriction!
Other than this though, it is ambiguous whether a given Construct is alive or not. On the whole I would say that they are mostly non-living creatures unless stated otherwise. But this opinion was only based on the old rules that often lumped Constructs and Undead together when determining whether spells - normally life-giving spells as mentioned above - affected them or not, and the fact that Warforged were specifically called out as "living Constructs". However, I could see this argued either way, especially since the new Cure spells no longer have a restriction.
so i was looking at the definition of an object that got me wondering is a construct a object or a creature.
a simple dm with a lot of lore and homebrew to be made and a cultist of lambalI. prefer any pronouns bwt.
"Construct" is a creature type, so constructs are by definition creatures, and living.
pronouns: he/she/they
There was a conversation about this on Twitter/X, and you can check it out on sageadvice.eu: Is an undead considered a "Living creature"?
Hope it helps!
A creature via game terms, but not living. (Everything in the monster manual is a creature regardless of whether or not it is alive.)
Warforge are an exception where they are kinda alive kinda not.
A corpse is a creature, just not a living creature. The resurrection type spells all require that you target a creature that is dead. Creatures don't stop being creatures because someone had the gall to unalive them.
How to add Tooltips.
Could we please not have that discussion in here as it will derail the thread quite quickly.
A construct is a creature (as it is a creature type) and not an object. That is a very different question to if it is "living" or not though.
(a) I think we have to be clear to separate out game terms from general English terminology.
(b) As a general concept you can have, in the game, things that are creatures but not living. Undead being the obvious example as non-living by definition (though even here I admit I'm technically counteracting my first point about game terms and general English with the definition of "undead"!)
However, in game terms, a Construct is most definitely a creature and not an object (for reasons other people have stated). This is generally all you need to know to determine how a Construct is treated with certain in-game effects. E.g. If a spell targets only creatures but not objects then, yes, it can target a Construct.
Interestingly, the 2014 version of the old Cure Wound and similar spells stated they did not affect Constructs or Undead; the 2024 versions no longer have this restriction!
Other than this though, it is ambiguous whether a given Construct is alive or not. On the whole I would say that they are mostly non-living creatures unless stated otherwise. But this opinion was only based on the old rules that often lumped Constructs and Undead together when determining whether spells - normally life-giving spells as mentioned above - affected them or not, and the fact that Warforged were specifically called out as "living Constructs". However, I could see this argued either way, especially since the new Cure spells no longer have a restriction.
thanks for clearing that up and sorry that the thread was different then the question
a simple dm with a lot of lore and homebrew to be made and a cultist of lambalI. prefer any pronouns bwt.
I was looking for the same question. My adamtium Warhamer wants constructs to be an object as well.....
Objects are by definition not creatures.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Creature and Object are mutually exclusive terms
Construct is a Creature type
Constructs are creatures
Therefore they're not objects
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
yeah this was mainly came about by a dm getting me a bit confused on the rules
a simple dm with a lot of lore and homebrew to be made and a cultist of lambalI. prefer any pronouns bwt.