Just wanted to confirm, a 5th level Warlock uses Booming Blade cantrip with his Thirsting Blade (allows two melee attacks) invocation, he can can’t really use the invocation. Is this correct?
Just wanted to confirm, a 5th level Warlock uses Booming Blade cantrip with his Thirsting Blade (allows two melee attacks) invocation, he can can’t really use the invocation. Is this correct?
Correct. Thirsting Blade says that you can make two attacks with a pact weapon when you take the Attack action on your turn. Casting Booming Blade does not use an Attack action. (The action it uses is called the Magic action in 2024 rules, or a "Cast a Spell" action in 2014 rules.)
Keep in mind that all cantrips that deal damage (including Booming Blade) get an upgrade at certain character levels. These are kind of meant as an alternative to multiple attacks as the average damage output scales up sort of similarly.
Just wanted to confirm, a 5th level Warlock uses Booming Blade cantrip with his Thirsting Blade (allows two melee attacks) invocation, he can can’t really use the invocation. Is this correct?
Correct. Thirsting Blade says that you can make two attacks with a pact weapon when you take the Attack action on your turn. Casting Booming Blade does not use an Attack action. (The action it uses is called the Magic action in 2024 rules, or a "Cast a Spell" action in 2014 rules.)
Keep in mind that all cantrips that deal damage (including Booming Blade) get an upgrade at certain character levels. These are kind of meant as an alternative to multiple attacks as the average damage output scales up sort of similarly.
pronouns: he/she/they