It seems you are using the 2014 rule books? Then no. In 2014 there is a distinction between a bonus for weapon attacks and a bonus for spell attacks. Since nothing in the pact weapon or improved pact weapon invocations says anything about improving spell attacks or damage, the bonus only applies to weapon attacks. For example, the magic item staff of power tells you that it affects attack and damage rolls with it but goes on to tell you that spell attacks are also affected. Without such a statement, these invocations do not affect spell attacks.
In 2024 rules, I'm not sure the distinction is as clear, though from the few magic items I've seen, I think the authors might still intend it (compare the wording of wand of the war mage to a weapon, +1).
Hello guys, just a question, i am wondering if my Invocation (Improved Pact W.) means that improves my Spell CD and Hit roll
NORMALLY, it could not since this is written in the incantation:
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
So basically i should have a +1 on Attack and Dmg...
BUT!!!!
i have a +2 Sword, and the incantation writes this:
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
So... does the +2 Sword count as a +2 Arcane focus?
No, it doesn't. A +2 Weapon's attack and damage bonus apply to attacks made with that weapon, not to anything else. Magic items don't generally do anything that's not explicitly stated in the description of the item.
@RandomMagilla Does the +1 from Improved Pact Weapon carry through when used as a spell focus?
@JeremyECrawford The bonus to attack rolls conferred by Improve Pact Weapon applies to the weapon's attack rolls, not to a spell's attack rolls.
@TheTaro Hey #DnD scholars… if you have a +1 (etc) weapon and can use weapon as a spell focus, you get that +1 for spells too right?
@Dan_Dillon_1 No, you'll notice in the description of magic weapons that grant these sorts of bonuses (usually +1 to +3), it specifies that you add that bonus to attack and damage rolls made using the weapon. That's referring to weapon attacks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello guys, just a question, i am wondering if my Invocation (Improved Pact W.) means that improves my Spell CD and Hit roll
NORMALLY, it could not since this is written in the incantation:
In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
So basically i should have a +1 on Attack and Dmg...
BUT!!!!
i have a +2 Sword, and the incantation writes this:
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
So... does the +2 Sword count as a +2 Arcane focus?
It seems you are using the 2014 rule books? Then no. In 2014 there is a distinction between a bonus for weapon attacks and a bonus for spell attacks. Since nothing in the pact weapon or improved pact weapon invocations says anything about improving spell attacks or damage, the bonus only applies to weapon attacks. For example, the magic item staff of power tells you that it affects attack and damage rolls with it but goes on to tell you that spell attacks are also affected. Without such a statement, these invocations do not affect spell attacks.
In 2024 rules, I'm not sure the distinction is as clear, though from the few magic items I've seen, I think the authors might still intend it (compare the wording of wand of the war mage to a weapon, +1).
No, it doesn't. A +2 Weapon's attack and damage bonus apply to attacks made with that weapon, not to anything else. Magic items don't generally do anything that's not explicitly stated in the description of the item.
pronouns: he/she/they
+1 to hit for me fellows above.
While not official ruling per se, for those interested the Devs answered this question before: Does the +1 from Improved Pact Weapon carry through when used as a spell focus? D&D scholars: if you have a +1 weapon and can use weapon as a spell focus, you get that +1 for spells too right?