Based on the '24 rules, how many cantrips does a lvl1 druid have?
The Spellcasting feature grants 2 cantrips. The Primal Order>Magician feature says "You know one extra cantrip..." While the Druid feature table says lvl 1 druid knows 2 cantrips. So does a druid know 2 or 3 cantrips? If 3, as they lvl up will they always know [cantrips @ lvl]+1?
One other specific thing. Someone has made a Wood Elf Druid which is granted the Druidcraft cantrip (Elven Lineage table). Does this druid have [# of known] cantrips + Druidcraft or is it counted as 1 of the [# of known] cantrips?
Based on the '24 rules, how many cantrips does a lvl1 druid have?
The Spellcasting feature grants 2 cantrips. The Primal Order>Magician feature says "You know one extra cantrip..." While the Druid feature table says lvl 1 druid knows 2 cantrips. So does a druid know 2 or 3 cantrips? If 3, as they lvl up will they always know [cantrips @ lvl]+1?
One other specific thing. Someone has made a Wood Elf Druid which is granted the Druidcraft cantrip (Elven Lineage table). Does this druid have [# of known] cantrips + Druidcraft or is it counted as 1 of the [# of known] cantrips?
Thanks!
If you choose the Magician option for Primal Order, you get one extra Druid cantrip beyond the two that you would normally get at level 1. So, if you choose Magician you start with three cantrips, and if you choose the other option (Warden) you start with two.
Cantrips you get from your species (or any other source) are a totally separate thing and do not count toward the number of cantrips you get from your class.
To expand on wagnarokkr’s reply: the Magician will always know one additional cantrip compared to the Warden. So, they will start with three and eventually have five (not including any that they gain from their species, background, feats, subclasses or multiclassing).
Yes. Spells that are granted by species options are totally separate from anything to do with your class. You don’t have to be a spellcasting class to use them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi All,
Based on the '24 rules, how many cantrips does a lvl1 druid have?
The Spellcasting feature grants 2 cantrips. The Primal Order>Magician feature says "You know one extra cantrip..." While the Druid feature table says lvl 1 druid knows 2 cantrips.
So does a druid know 2 or 3 cantrips? If 3, as they lvl up will they always know [cantrips @ lvl]+1?
One other specific thing. Someone has made a Wood Elf Druid which is granted the Druidcraft cantrip (Elven Lineage table). Does this druid have [# of known] cantrips + Druidcraft or is it counted as 1 of the [# of known] cantrips?
Thanks!
If you choose the Magician option for Primal Order, you get one extra Druid cantrip beyond the two that you would normally get at level 1. So, if you choose Magician you start with three cantrips, and if you choose the other option (Warden) you start with two.
Cantrips you get from your species (or any other source) are a totally separate thing and do not count toward the number of cantrips you get from your class.
pronouns: he/she/they
To expand on wagnarokkr’s reply: the Magician will always know one additional cantrip compared to the Warden. So, they will start with three and eventually have five (not including any that they gain from their species, background, feats, subclasses or multiclassing).
Thank you guys!
That all makes sense, appreciate the confirmation :)
Hi, do non-spellcasting woodelves (she's a monk) still start with the druid cantrip? Thanks
Yes. Spells that are granted by species options are totally separate from anything to do with your class. You don’t have to be a spellcasting class to use them.
pronouns: he/she/they