It appears that a level 18 EK could spend an attack to cast a cantrip, and two more attacks to cast a spell, in the same attack action. I'm not sure how actually useful that is (improved war magic in general doesn't particularly impress me), but would people agree it's legal?
If I am reading it correctly, in one round a level 18+ (3-4 attacks per attack action) Eldritch Knight can:
Use the Magic action to cast a spell without a spell slot* or use the Attack Action and replace up to one attack with a Cantrip.
Action Surge to use the Attack Action to replace one attack with a Cantrip and replace a further 2 attacks with a level 1 or level 2 spell, leaving 0 or 1 weapon attack.
Use a bonus action a bonus action spell without a spell slot*
If applicable, use a reaction to cast a spell without a spell slot* that has a casting time of 1 reaction.
For a total of up to 5 spells on your turn. Up to 4 of which can be level 1 or higher as long as only 1 actually uses a spell slot. Is that right? I don't have access to my PHB at the moment.
* A cantrip, magic item, innate ability, etc. For, I think, an Order of Scribes Wizard, this can include rituals in their spell book depending on the normal casting time (usable once per long rest).
It appears that a level 18 EK could spend an attack to cast a cantrip, and two more attacks to cast a spell, in the same attack action. I'm not sure how actually useful that is (improved war magic in general doesn't particularly impress me), but would people agree it's legal?
Sounds valid.
Out of interest, does the restriction to casting Level 1 or 2 spells apply to the slots used? Could the EK use a 3rd level slot as part of Improved War Magic to cast, say, Thunderwave?
It appears that a level 18 EK could spend an attack to cast a cantrip, and two more attacks to cast a spell, in the same attack action. I'm not sure how actually useful that is (improved war magic in general doesn't particularly impress me), but would people agree it's legal?
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
It appears that a level 18 EK could spend an attack to cast a cantrip, and two more attacks to cast a spell, in the same attack action. I'm not sure how actually useful that is (improved war magic in general doesn't particularly impress me), but would people agree it's legal?
Sounds valid.
Out of interest, does the restriction to casting Level 1 or 2 spells apply to the slots used? Could the EK use a 3rd level slot as part of Improved War Magic to cast, say, Thunderwave?
No, this wouldn't be legal cause the spells are cast as bonus actions and you can take only one bonus action a turn
Not in 2024.
I started to say that 2024 still limits you to one Bonus Action per turn and then I realized that the 2024 change you were referring to is that Improved War Magic isn't a Bonus Action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It appears that a level 18 EK could spend an attack to cast a cantrip, and two more attacks to cast a spell, in the same attack action. I'm not sure how actually useful that is (improved war magic in general doesn't particularly impress me), but would people agree it's legal?
No, this wouldn't be legal cause the spells are cast as bonus actions and you can take only one bonus action a turn
Can I have your liver for culinary...ahh, scientific reasons?
Not in 2024.
If I am reading it correctly, in one round a level 18+ (3-4 attacks per attack action) Eldritch Knight can:
For a total of up to 5 spells on your turn. Up to 4 of which can be level 1 or higher as long as only 1 actually uses a spell slot. Is that right? I don't have access to my PHB at the moment.
* A cantrip, magic item, innate ability, etc. For, I think, an Order of Scribes Wizard, this can include rituals in their spell book depending on the normal casting time (usable once per long rest).
How to add Tooltips.
Sounds valid.
Out of interest, does the restriction to casting Level 1 or 2 spells apply to the slots used? Could the EK use a 3rd level slot as part of Improved War Magic to cast, say, Thunderwave?
I also think this is right according to the new "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn" rule:
I'd say it's right:
I started to say that 2024 still limits you to one Bonus Action per turn and then I realized that the 2024 change you were referring to is that Improved War Magic isn't a Bonus Action.