Is this allowed? Or can I not cast any other spells while I maintain concetration
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
Is this allowed? Or can I not cast any other spells while I maintain concetration
It is allowed. Concentration doesn't prevent you from casting other spells.
If the second spell also requires Concentration, then it ends your Concentration on the first one when you start casting the second one. If the second spell doesn't require Concentration (like Fireball) then the first spell keeps going.
Cool, thank you! Sorry for bothering ya, have a great day :D
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
Now, this will rarely if ever come up, but if you tried to cast something like Animate Dead after you started concentrating on another spell then you'd lose concentration on the first one because when a spell has a casting time of 1 minute or more you need to concentrate on that spell for that 1 minute period.
If you’re concentrating on a spell, your concentration on it ends immediately when you start casting another spell that requires concentration.
Which means the casting time means nothing to maintaining concentration on the first spell. We are back to the rules where if it says it does something, it does and if it doesn't, it doesn't. Spellcasting doesn't say you need to concentrate on casting a spell, unless it is a concentration spell. Thus, while it has a long casting time, it does not have concentration on it's list, so Animate Dead would also be fine. Shield of Faith, Invisibility and such would all immediately end the first spell, though, as they require concentration.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
If you’re concentrating on a spell, your concentration on it ends immediately when you start casting another spell that requires concentration.
Which means the casting time means nothing to maintaining concentration on the first spell. We are back to the rules where if it says it does something, it does and if it doesn't, it doesn't. Spellcasting doesn't say you need to concentrate on casting a spell, unless it is a concentration spell. Thus, while it has a long casting time, it does not have concentration on it's list, so Animate Dead would also be fine. Shield of Faith, Invisibility and such would all immediately end the first spell, though, as they require concentration.
That is not correct. Casting a spell with a casting time of more than one action requires that you maintain concentration on it for the entire casting time. If the spell itself doesn't require concentration, then you don't need to keep concentrating on it after that. (Animate Dead is a perfect example of this as its casting time is 1 minute, but its duration is instant.)
This is explicitly stated in the spellcasting rules in both the 2014 and 2024 versions of the Player's Handbook.
If you’re concentrating on a spell, your concentration on it ends immediately when you start casting another spell that requires concentration.
I don't think that in all my years of playing D&D this has ever come up, but I'm glad there's an official rule about it.
Haha, I know, but I remembered that text from the SAC when reading The_Ace_of_Rogues' answer.
It's also in XGtE, p. 5:
Concentration. As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires concentration, your concentration on another effect ends instantly.
And in reality it was incorporated in the 2024 Rules Glossary:
[...] Another Concentration Effect. You lose Concentration on an effect the moment you start casting a spell that requires Concentration or activate another effect that requires Concentration. Damage. [...] Incapacitated or Dead. [...]
This was way more information then i needed, but thanks XD :D
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
Additionally, if you use the Ready action to prepare to cast a spell (like Fireball) later in the round then that also uses your concentration. Your concentration on Cloud of Daggers would end as soon as you took the Ready action on your turn and chose to ready a spell.
But yeah, casting a normal spell normally does not interrupt concentration.
Additionally, if you use the Ready action to prepare to cast a spell (like Fireball) later in the round then that also uses your concentration. Your concentration on Cloud of Daggers would end as soon as you took the Ready action on your turn and chose to ready a spell.
But yeah, casting a normal spell normally does not interrupt concentration.
At the risk of being a trifle pedantic, when you use a Ready Action for a spell, you cast it during that action and then release it at the trigger (and you have to Concentrate the entire time in between).
This might seem trivial, but it is important because you explicitly "expending any resources used to cast it" during that action, and if you lose Concentration (most likely because of damage), you can no longer release the spell as your Reaction.
Additionally, if the trigger does not occur before the start of your next turn, the spell dissipates, although the resources remain expended.
It is unclear if a spell slot is considered a 'resource' (I can see arguments either way). Assuming for the moment that it does, the distinction between casting as the Ready action and 'preparing to cast as the Ready action' could mean burning a spell slot without benefit.
At the very least, it means you might burn up a Material component in some cases and that you may have to perform Verbal or Somatic components that your opponents might be able to see, warning them about the nature of the Readied action.
Now, this will rarely if ever come up, but if you tried to cast something like Animate Dead after you started concentrating on another spell then you'd lose concentration on the first one because when a spell has a casting time of 1 minute or more you need to concentrate on that spell for that 1 minute period.
I would think the most like scenario would be concentrating a spell like Hex and then ritual casting something (maybe Identify during a short rest).
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
Why is this blocked?Smart AlertTrigger: Category: Explicit
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Turn 1: Cast Cloud of Dagger
Turn 2: Cast fireball
Is this allowed? Or can I not cast any other spells while I maintain concetration
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
It is allowed. Concentration doesn't prevent you from casting other spells.
If the second spell also requires Concentration, then it ends your Concentration on the first one when you start casting the second one. If the second spell doesn't require Concentration (like Fireball) then the first spell keeps going.
pronouns: he/she/they
Cool, thank you! Sorry for bothering ya, have a great day :D
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
No problem!
pronouns: he/she/they
Now, this will rarely if ever come up, but if you tried to cast something like Animate Dead after you started concentrating on another spell then you'd lose concentration on the first one because when a spell has a casting time of 1 minute or more you need to concentrate on that spell for that 1 minute period.
Inspired by The_Ace_of_Rogues' answer, here is my small contribution:
I don't think that in all my years of playing D&D this has ever come up, but I'm glad there's an official rule about it.
pronouns: he/she/they
Which means the casting time means nothing to maintaining concentration on the first spell. We are back to the rules where if it says it does something, it does and if it doesn't, it doesn't. Spellcasting doesn't say you need to concentrate on casting a spell, unless it is a concentration spell. Thus, while it has a long casting time, it does not have concentration on it's list, so Animate Dead would also be fine. Shield of Faith, Invisibility and such would all immediately end the first spell, though, as they require concentration.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
That is not correct. Casting a spell with a casting time of more than one action requires that you maintain concentration on it for the entire casting time. If the spell itself doesn't require concentration, then you don't need to keep concentrating on it after that. (Animate Dead is a perfect example of this as its casting time is 1 minute, but its duration is instant.)
This is explicitly stated in the spellcasting rules in both the 2014 and 2024 versions of the Player's Handbook.
pronouns: he/she/they
Haha, I know, but I remembered that text from the SAC when reading The_Ace_of_Rogues' answer.
It's also in XGtE, p. 5:
And in reality it was incorporated in the 2024 Rules Glossary:
This was way more information then i needed, but thanks XD
:D
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
Additionally, if you use the Ready action to prepare to cast a spell (like Fireball) later in the round then that also uses your concentration. Your concentration on Cloud of Daggers would end as soon as you took the Ready action on your turn and chose to ready a spell.
But yeah, casting a normal spell normally does not interrupt concentration.
At the risk of being a trifle pedantic, when you use a Ready Action for a spell, you cast it during that action and then release it at the trigger (and you have to Concentrate the entire time in between).
This might seem trivial, but it is important because you explicitly "expending any resources used to cast it" during that action, and if you lose Concentration (most likely because of damage), you can no longer release the spell as your Reaction.
Additionally, if the trigger does not occur before the start of your next turn, the spell dissipates, although the resources remain expended.
It is unclear if a spell slot is considered a 'resource' (I can see arguments either way). Assuming for the moment that it does, the distinction between casting as the Ready action and 'preparing to cast as the Ready action' could mean burning a spell slot without benefit.
At the very least, it means you might burn up a Material component in some cases and that you may have to perform Verbal or Somatic components that your opponents might be able to see, warning them about the nature of the Readied action.
I would think the most like scenario would be concentrating a spell like Hex and then ritual casting something (maybe Identify during a short rest).
How to add Tooltips.
And that limits Witch Bolt a lot, as it breaks your concentration even if you just want to use its initial damage upcasting the spell.
Oh my god guys i didnt need all of this
😭
Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds
Sorry. I didn't mean to disrupt your Concentration...
(⌐■_■)
How to add Tooltips.
Why does that work so wellllllllll
Image Blocked by School Admin
This image has been blocked by your school.
URL:Just Your Friendly Animated Armor :3
I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds I love birds