This is just to share something I didn't realize before, in case it's interesting to you too.
The description for Chain, Manacles and Rope have been updated in the 2024 PHB, and now they include rules for wrapping or binding unwilling creatures. I guess each DM had their own way of ruling it before.
Chain As a Utilize action, you can wrap a Chain around an unwilling creature within 5 feet of yourself that has the Grappled, Incapacitated, or Restrained condition if you succeed on a DC 13 Strength (Athletics) check.
Manacles As a Utilize action, you can use Manacles to bind an unwilling Small or Medium creature within 5 feet of yourself that has the Grappled, Incapacitated, or Restrained condition if you succeed on a DC 13 Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) check.
Rope [...] You can bind an unwilling creature with the Rope only if the creature has the Grappled, Incapacitated, or Restrained condition.
This is just to share something I didn't realize before, in case it's interesting to you too.
The description for Chain, Manacles and Rope have been updated in the 2024 PHB, and now they include rules for wrapping or binding unwilling creatures. I guess each DM had their own way of ruling it before.
Every item in the new Player's Handbook now has rules.
Yeah, I don't know why, but I hadn't noticed that detail about those three yet.