I had to figure it all out in my own and I think I figured it out. Monsters done get initiative and they have no bonuses. So if it says +5 to hit that's all they need to hit and D20 +5, no bonuses. Am I right?
All creatures will roll initiative using their Dexterity modifier (e.g. +2 for a creature with Dexterity 14) unless some special rule in their description gives them a different bonus.
The monster descriptions will give the 'to hit' value for their attacks without going into any further detail about where it comes from. That +5 to hit might include the monster's STR or DEX modifier, a proficiency bonus, etc, but it won't explain itself - you just use the +5.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I had to figure it all out in my own and I think I figured it out. Monsters done get initiative and they have no bonuses. So if it says +5 to hit that's all they need to hit and D20 +5, no bonuses. Am I right?
All creatures will roll initiative using their Dexterity modifier (e.g. +2 for a creature with Dexterity 14) unless some special rule in their description gives them a different bonus.
The monster descriptions will give the 'to hit' value for their attacks without going into any further detail about where it comes from. That +5 to hit might include the monster's STR or DEX modifier, a proficiency bonus, etc, but it won't explain itself - you just use the +5.