So the Claw is a simple light weapon that has the Light and Attached* property. It is stated to be a clawed weapon worn as a glove.
The Attached* property means you can't be disarmed of it, it's an action to don or soft (unless a feature indicates otherwise), you can hold items with a hand equipped with a Claw, but can't attack with the claw while holding something in it, also disadvantage for sleight of hand checks using that hand.
My question is whether or not the nature of the glove-like weapon justifies that hand to be able to perform Somatic Components. It is not listed as far as I can tell, but we do have gauntlets I presume that do not explicitly hinder somatics.
Are there any RAW or RAI or RAF thoughts on the matter?
Incidentally, part of the Cats Caress feature introduced in the book (where the purpose is to use two claws, one on each hand), there's an excerpt that reads:
You have advantage to hit a target you are grappling with an attack using a claw.
This indicates to me that you can grapple with a hand equipped with a claw even though attached doesn't state it. So would this imply somatic components can be performed with a Claw attached hand as well?
So the Claw is a simple light weapon that has the Light and Attached* property. It is stated to be a clawed weapon worn as a glove.
The Attached* property means you can't be disarmed of it, it's an action to don or soft (unless a feature indicates otherwise), you can hold items with a hand equipped with a Claw, but can't attack with the claw while holding something in it, also disadvantage for sleight of hand checks using that hand.
My question is whether or not the nature of the glove-like weapon justifies that hand to be able to perform Somatic Components. It is not listed as far as I can tell, but we do have gauntlets I presume that do not explicitly hinder somatics.
Are there any RAW or RAI or RAF thoughts on the matter?
Incidentally, part of the Cats Caress feature introduced in the book (where the purpose is to use two claws, one on each hand), there's an excerpt that reads:
This indicates to me that you can grapple with a hand equipped with a claw even though attached doesn't state it. So would this imply somatic components can be performed with a Claw attached hand as well?
Up to DM. My ruling would consider such claw a free hand for the purpose of spellcasting or grappling.
In the absence of the book saying so, it's got to be DM's call.
Also, I'm judging them pretty hard for not saying whether or not you can use it as a free hand. It's a very obvious question from what I've seen here.