They removed the action requirement for wands, is it up the the DM to define the action economy?
2014:
This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the magic missile spell from it. For 1 charge, you cast the 1st-level version of the spell. You can increase the spell slot level by one for each additional charge you expend.
2024
This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can expend no more than 3 charges to cast Magic Missile from it. For 1 charge, you cast the level 1 version of the spell. You can increase the spell’s level by 1 for each additional charge you expend.
They removed the action requirement for wands, is it up the the DM to define the action economy?
2014:
This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the magic missile spell from it. For 1 charge, you cast the 1st-level version of the spell. You can increase the spell slot level by one for each additional charge you expend.
2024
This wand has 7 charges. While holding it, you can expend no more than 3 charges to cast Magic Missile from it. For 1 charge, you cast the level 1 version of the spell. You can increase the spell’s level by 1 for each additional charge you expend.
Sounds like you can only ever cast Magic Missile at 3rd level despite possibly having seven charges in 2024. Action econ doesn’t seem to matter.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
" Darkvision doesn’t work in Magical darkness, and if something is magical, Never Trust it acts the same way as a non-magical version of that same thing!”- Discotech Mage over a cup of joe.
If I'm not wrong, casting spells from some magic items takes the spell's normal casting time unless the Magic action is specified.
The thing is, a casting time of one action is equivalent to the Magic action. And that's the case of Magic Missile.
Right. Because of that general rule, pretty much all the spell-casting magic items that included the casting time in the description have had that removed, except in a few cases where it's actually different from the normal casting time.
If I'm not wrong, casting spells from some magic items takes the spell's normal casting time unless the Magic action is specified.
The thing is, a casting time of one action is equivalent to the Magic action. And that's the case of Magic Missile.
Right. Because of that general rule, pretty much all the spell-casting magic items that included the casting time in the description have had that removed, except in a few cases where it's actually different from the normal casting time.
They removed the action requirement for wands, is it up the the DM to define the action economy?
2014:
2024
Sounds like you can only ever cast Magic Missile at 3rd level despite possibly having seven charges in 2024. Action econ doesn’t seem to matter.
" Darkvision doesn’t work in Magical darkness, and if something is magical, Never Trust it acts the same way as a non-magical version of that same thing!”- Discotech Mage over a cup of joe.
If I'm not wrong, casting spells from some magic items takes the spell's normal casting time unless the Magic action is specified.
The thing is, a casting time of one action is equivalent to the Magic action. And that's the case of Magic Missile.
Right. Because of that general rule, pretty much all the spell-casting magic items that included the casting time in the description have had that removed, except in a few cases where it's actually different from the normal casting time.
pronouns: he/she/they
Your answer brought this thread to my mind: Staff of the Magi and Conjure Elemental casting time - Rules & Game Mechanics