Assuming we're under the 2024 PHB rules, this is the rule to follow:
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
So you could cast two spells using the Magic action and your Bonus Action if one of them is a cantrip or because it's a spell you can cast through traits/features/feats that grant characters prepared spells they can cast without using spell slots.
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
In general, yes, but there are limits on what kind of spells you can cast. Your Bonus action and Action can occur on any order on your turn.
2014 Rules:
If you cast any spell using a Bonus Action during your turn, the only spell you can cast on that same Turn is a Cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action. (Edited twice, thanks to Thezarruz, I originally claimed it was a Level 1+ spell, and I subsequently missed the more restrictive wording.)
2024 Rules:
You can only cast one spell that uses a Spell Slot each turn. Cantrips do not use Spell Slots, and there are many Species Abilities, Class Abilities, and Magic Items that allow casting spells without using Spell Slots. In general, monsters from the 2024 Monster Manual do not use Spell Slots at all.
2024 Rules - Sorcerer Quickened Spell Metamagic Special Case:
You cannot Quicken a Level 1+ spell if you've already cast a Level 1+ spell on your Turn, and you can't cast a Level 1+ Spell on your turn if you've Quickened any spell that turn.
If you cast a Level +1 spell using a Bonus Action during your turn, the only spell you can cast on your Action on that same turn are Cantrips.
This isn't exactly true, it is even more limiting than that actually. Casting ANY spell with a Bonus Action means that all other spells you cast that turn can ONLY be cantrips with a casting time of one Action.
If you cast a Level +1 spell using a Bonus Action during your turn, the only spell you can cast on your Action on that same turn are Cantrips.
This isn't exactly true, it is even more limiting than that actually. Casting ANY spell with a Bonus Action means that all other spells you cast that turn can ONLY be cantrips with a casting time of one Action.
Ah, I misremembered. Updated now, thanks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Not to be picky but you still didn't get it right. It doesn't just limit what spell you can cast with your action, it limits ALL other spells you cast during the same turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Out of curiosity, can I cast a spell using a bonus action, and then cast another using an action or vice versa?
It depends, are you using the 2014 or 2024 rules?
Assuming we're under the 2024 PHB rules, this is the rule to follow:
So you could cast two spells using the Magic action and your Bonus Action if one of them is a cantrip or because it's a spell you can cast through traits/features/feats that grant characters prepared spells they can cast without using spell slots.
EDIT: or Magic Items!
Very generally yes.
Except:
In general, yes, but there are limits on what kind of spells you can cast. Your Bonus action and Action can occur on any order on your turn.
2014 Rules:
2024 Rules:
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
This isn't exactly true, it is even more limiting than that actually. Casting ANY spell with a Bonus Action means that all other spells you cast that turn can ONLY be cantrips with a casting time of one Action.
Ah, I misremembered. Updated now, thanks.
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
Not to be picky but you still didn't get it right. It doesn't just limit what spell you can cast with your action, it limits ALL other spells you cast during the same turn.