I have a question related to suffocation inside a Gelatinous Cube, my native language is not english.
If you're inside a gelatinous cube, can you hold your breath?Or are you simply suffocating, unable to hold your breath?
The rule in the monster says: An engulfed target is suffocating, can’t cast spells with a Verbal component, has the Restrained condition, and takes 10 (3d6) Acid damage at the start of each of the cube’s turns.
The suffocation rule says you can hold your breath for X minutes before suffocation starts, but the Gelatinous Cube rule says you are suffocating.
I think it means more, you start suffocating, so if you are in there for more than a minute, that’s when it becomes a problem. However, it probably won’t matter. Suffocating only does something after those X minutes pass. Combat almost never lasts a full minute, so before the suffocating penalty (an exhaustion level) would happen, the fight will almost certainly be over.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello people.
I have a question related to suffocation inside a Gelatinous Cube, my native language is not english.
If you're inside a gelatinous cube, can you hold your breath? Or are you simply suffocating, unable to hold your breath?
The rule in the monster says: An engulfed target is suffocating, can’t cast spells with a Verbal component, has the Restrained condition, and takes 10 (3d6) Acid damage at the start of each of the cube’s turns.
The suffocation rule says you can hold your breath for X minutes before suffocation starts, but the Gelatinous Cube rule says you are suffocating.
I think it means more, you start suffocating, so if you are in there for more than a minute, that’s when it becomes a problem. However, it probably won’t matter. Suffocating only does something after those X minutes pass. Combat almost never lasts a full minute, so before the suffocating penalty (an exhaustion level) would happen, the fight will almost certainly be over.