Sometimes being technically correct is not being the best kind of correct.
In a perfect world all game effects would use the exact same wording, but the game has many authors. The RAW is indeed ambiguous even if it is the smallest amount of ambiguousness that can exist.
So run it how you want at your table. But I'll stick to the way that doesn't require 3 paragraphs of semantic deconstruction.
I didn't say it in my post, but if you read my deconstruction both effects occur as part of the creature's turn and would fall under the simultaneous effects rule. The only difference between what other people have said and a grammatical reading of the text is that it is still the creature-who's-ending-their-turn's turn. There is no ambiguity about if it's the next creature's turn. It is the creature's turn and they, therefore, get to decide the order of operations for the effects.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I didn't say it in my post, but if you read my deconstruction both effects occur as part of the creature's turn and would fall under the simultaneous effects rule. The only difference between what other people have said and a grammatical reading of the text is that it is still the creature-who's-ending-their-turn's turn. There is no ambiguity about if it's the next creature's turn. It is the creature's turn and they, therefore, get to decide the order of operations for the effects.